icon

Hood Scoops

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
gt2000 
Member - Posts: 4
Member spacespace
Posted: November 30, 2004 at 6:41 PM / IP Logged  

I want to get a new hood but don't have the money too.  So I was looking into possibly just getting the scoops and modding and molding them to the hood.  Because scoops that are just stuck on with the 3m tape are tacky.  The scoops would be fiberglass and the hood is obviously metal.  I'm no expert at any of this but know a few body men and such that would help me out. 

I still wouldn't plan on doing this for a while but I want to get all my research done and practice before I even think about doing the hood.  I heard some stuff about an epoxy called chemweld and a few others and read alot of other stuff about the project.  Any help or input would be appreciated.

And sorry if this shouldn't be posted here.  I know its not interior but I figured since its fiberglass somebody here might be able to help.  Thanks.

Alpine Guy 
Platinum - Posts: 2,478
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: November 30, 2004 at 10:58 PM / IP Logged  

you should get the stick on super charger!!  I saw it on e-bay, , , and mold that baby to your roof!

Naww...umm, , you should look into gettin a hood from a junk yard for like $50 and hack that baby up see how it looks before you tinker with your good hood.

2003 Chevy Avalanche,Eclipse CD7000,Morel Elate 5,Adire Extremis,Alpine PDX-4.150, 15" TC-3000, 2 Alpine PDX-1.1000, 470Amp HO Alt.
placid warrior 
Silver - Posts: 357
Silver spacespace
Posted: December 01, 2004 at 12:09 AM / IP Logged  
yea...thats what i did with mine...although mine is steel.  cost me i think 60 bucks...i cut a bit of the support bracing out, but just a small piece that goes down the middle...u dont want to be hacking away all the bracing.
gt2000 
Member spacespace
Posted: December 01, 2004 at 3:45 PM / IP Logged