icon

Amplifier hum

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
Nma_01 
Member - Posts: 2
Member spacespace
Posted: December 15, 2002 at 7:09 PM / IP Logged  

I'm just a car audio hobbyist but have been doing work for a few years now.  I recently installed a rather large (1600watts) amp in a 2001 Mustang.  It had a factory in dash changer and the "premium" Mach sound setup.  I ran the high inputs from the plug that goes to the two 6x8's in the back dash (BLACK/ white and BLACK/ green pairs).  When the gain was up on the amp if you closed the trunk it would cause the speakers to hum.  The closer the trunk came to shutting, the louder the hum got.  Disconnecting the plug to the 6x8's solved the problem.  I was wondering what was the cause of the problem and a better way to fix it.  Thank you.

-=Shannon Tappan=-
bberman1 
Gold - Posts: 2,314
Gold spacespace
Posted: December 15, 2002 at 7:27 PM / IP Logged  
Let me try and understand the situation better. You still have the Mach 460 set up in there. You spliced into the rear outputs of the speakers on the back of the head unit. And you are using high inputs on the amp and not rca’s. Now I take it the 1600 watt amp is for subs. Please let me know if this is how you have things set up and correct me if im wrong.
SnomanF150 
Silver - Posts: 269
Silver spacespace
Posted: December 15, 2002 at 8:29 PM / IP Logged  

we have had this problem before.. usually grounding the input shield or (if your using one) the line out converter will take care of it.. it's nothing new.. some cars do it, some cars don't.. I don't know exactly what causes it..

I believe you are only getting this when you are using the factory radio and you actually turn the radio off and leave the key on.. amp hooked up on ign.. am I right?  I don't know what causes it, but ground the shields and try that.... I will talk to my tech tomorrow and see what I can find..

Don't knwo what the trunk has to do with it.. 12volt, any ideas?

George