the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

ground while running?


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
jaywyatt 
Member - Posts: 16
Member spacespace
Joined: August 10, 2004
Posted: January 12, 2008 at 6:40 AM / IP Logged  
I hope this is not a dumb questionposted_image
On a remote start system is the GWR output active only while the starter is running or active until the brake is pushed? If it is active all the time could it be used for the parking lights if the RS sytem only has a pos. park light output but you needed a neg.output?I know that you can change the polarity with a relay but was just wondering if this was possible.
Thanks
chriswallace187 
Gold - Posts: 1,667
Gold spacespace
Joined: March 11, 2002
Location: Pennsylvania, United States
Posted: January 12, 2008 at 7:08 AM / IP Logged  

It depends on the RS...some are active from the time the remote start signal is received to the time it shuts down via whatever input...some are programmable to only be on when the car is running, or only during cranking.

You'd lose any light flash capability doing that however - not really an issue for remote starting but a major one when you're trying to program options or figure out why it's shutting down for no apparent reason. Best to just use the relay to convert IMO.

C Renner's Auto Electronix
My service is cheap, quick, and good - pick any two
jaywyatt 
Member - Posts: 16
Member spacespace
Joined: August 10, 2004
Posted: January 12, 2008 at 7:24 AM / IP Logged  
Thanks for the quick response Chris. Good advice. I was just curious.
tedmond 
Gold - Posts: 4,624
Gold spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Security and Convenience. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: January 06, 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posted: January 12, 2008 at 10:27 AM / IP Logged  

i have never seen a GWR running wire that was programmable. i would jus use the simple method of changinf pos to negative with a relay. btw what alarm do you have? most unit have jumpers to change the polarity of that output. and i wouldnt use the GWR to headlight since the GWR only has a 500mA output.

Chris Luongo 
Platinum - Posts: 3,751
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Joined: May 21, 2002
Location: Massachusetts, United States
Posted: January 12, 2008 at 6:14 PM / IP Logged  
Typically, the GWR wire comes on a little bit early before remote start, and shuts off a few seconds after the remote starter shuts down (or you hit the brake).
It'll work OK for parking lights, but there won't be any way to flash the parking lights when you lock and unlock.
I can't believe there's no on-board way to switch your positive parking light output to a negative, unless the unit is very old.
What are you installing?
chriswallace187 
Gold - Posts: 1,667
Gold spacespace
Joined: March 11, 2002
Location: Pennsylvania, United States
Posted: January 12, 2008 at 7:05 PM / IP Logged  

tedmond, some models of audiovox have a programmable transponder output - it can be set to normal GWR, only active during startup, or active untill the ignition is turned off after driving the car. 

I've never had to change it but I'm guessing that they designed that for vehicles that shouldn't see 2 transponders at once, and vehicles that shouldn't see 2 different transponders during a run-cycle.

C Renner's Auto Electronix
My service is cheap, quick, and good - pick any two
tedmond 
Gold - Posts: 4,624
Gold spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Security and Convenience. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: January 06, 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posted: January 12, 2008 at 8:54 PM / IP Logged  
the cars that cant see 2 transponders, there are many kits that offer the key sense feature taht once a key is in the ignition, the bypasskit is turned off.
chriswallace187 
Gold - Posts: 1,667
Gold spacespace
Joined: March 11, 2002
Location: Pennsylvania, United States
Posted: January 13, 2008 at 7:55 AM / IP Logged  
That's true tedmond...I think that Audiovox probably designed the programmable output before those were available.  I know DEI for example, didn't have that until the 556U came out around '02 IIRC. Before that it was just the 555U which had only power and GWR as inputs.
C Renner's Auto Electronix
My service is cheap, quick, and good - pick any two
tedmond 
Gold - Posts: 4,624
Gold spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Security and Convenience. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: January 06, 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posted: January 13, 2008 at 9:21 AM / IP Logged  

cool, thanks for the into chris, you learn something new each day =D


Sorry, you can NOT post a reply.
This topic is closed.

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Friday, September 22, 2017 • Copyright © 1999-2017 the12volt.com Donate to the12volt.com Advertising Top of Page
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Donate to the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer