the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

where did my chirp go?


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
nicecaptures 
Member - Posts: 12
Member spacespace
Joined: February 06, 2008
Location: Ohio, United States
Posted: February 06, 2008 at 10:08 PM / IP Logged  

I have a Viper 550HF on a Jeep I just bought... it used to chirp when I turned the alarm on & off... & the small red light in my dash used to blink... the alarm still works but Ive lost the blink & chirp. Can I get these back working like they were?

Thank You

swamprat323 
Gold - Posts: 1,333
Gold spacespace
Joined: September 22, 2002
Location: Florida, United States
Posted: February 06, 2008 at 10:28 PM / IP Logged  
you are in valet mode to get in and out of that
turn key on then off push valet button once
or
open door push lock then unlock then lock again
nicecaptures 
Member - Posts: 12
Member spacespace
Joined: February 06, 2008
Location: Ohio, United States
Posted: February 06, 2008 at 11:06 PM / IP Logged  

hmmm... I looked under the dash & found the little "black box" but I didnt see a switch on it... so I tried the lock & unlock thing... it didnt work. Is this a little push button switch... a flip switch...?

I unlocked the doors... opened the drivers door... put the key in... turned it to the on position... then off... then pushed lock... unlock... then lock again... then I shut the door... hit lock & unlock a few times... same thing...no chirp & red light in dash stays on constant.

Whats wrong here... lol

swamprat323 
Gold - Posts: 1,333
Gold spacespace
Joined: September 22, 2002
Location: Florida, United States
Posted: February 06, 2008 at 11:08 PM / IP Logged  
it be a button
2 ways to do it.
by key    turn key on then off then push valet button do this with 5 secs
by remote
OPEN door 4 button rmeotes push lock unlock lock
3 button remotes    lock aux lock
mobile1 
Silver - Posts: 479
Silver spacespace
Joined: February 23, 2004
Location: United States
Posted: February 06, 2008 at 11:09 PM / IP Logged  
The valet switch is a push button momentary switch. (not toggle) If you are trying the other method, are you pushing lock and unlock on the viper remote or the switch in the car?
nicecaptures 
Member - Posts: 12
Member spacespace
Joined: February 06, 2008
Location: Ohio, United States
Posted: February 06, 2008 at 11:16 PM / IP Logged  
On the remote
swamprat323 
Gold - Posts: 1,333
Gold spacespace
Joined: September 22, 2002
Location: Florida, United States
Posted: February 06, 2008 at 11:22 PM / IP Logged  
with remote the door trigger needs to be hook up. it should be if installed right and if pin switch is working right.
dotn go to fast when pushing buttons how many buttons do your remotes have
nicecaptures 
Member - Posts: 12
Member spacespace
Joined: February 06, 2008
Location: Ohio, United States
Posted: February 06, 2008 at 11:34 PM / IP Logged  

Well... the doors lock & the alarm engages with the remote so I suppose its hooked up right... right?

I have a 4 button remote.

I tried it both ways... hitting the lock...unlock... & lock slowly & fast.

Am I correct in hitting the lock, unlock & lock with the door open?

I just tried it again with same results. I will go back out & see if Im missing that little switch on the black box.

swamprat323 
Gold - Posts: 1,333
Gold spacespace
Joined: September 22, 2002
Location: Florida, United States
Posted: February 06, 2008 at 11:43 PM / IP Logged  
dont worrie about the switch or valet button if you trying to do it by remote
since we cant get the to do it lets try try the by the key
you need to find the valet it be a small black button some were. not sure what u mean by black box.
you may have 2 button one valet and one VRS ( car recover thing) for get how to sue that
need the button that does the programing and say if u lose your remote how to turn alarm OFF
HOW MANY BUTTON ( small black ones) DO YOU HAVE?
mobile1 
Silver - Posts: 479
Silver spacespace
Joined: February 23, 2004
Location: United States
Posted: February 06, 2008 at 11:44 PM / IP Logged  
when you hit lock on the remote with the door open and the siren chirps, if you wait a couple of seconds does it chirp at you again? If so then the door triggers are hooked up, if not then either they are not, or there is a problem with the door triggers. If this is the case, it would explain why the alarm won't go into any programming.
Page of 2

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Wednesday, November 30, 2022 • Copyright © 1999-2022 the12volt.com, All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy & Use of Cookies
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

Secured by Sectigo
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Support the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer