icon

cap draining battery?

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
eaks 
Copper - Posts: 62
Copper spacespace
Posted: February 24, 2008 at 5:23 PM / IP Logged  
Hey guys/girls.. I have been having a ton of stereo problems as of late and just got A system (emphasis on A..not that system as its messed up) working..
Well before on my old system i had a cap, monoblock amp and my sub (as well as another amp running my 6.5s in the front).. so i was an electronics engineering student and know quite a bit about caps.. well heres my question.. is there any way to stop the cap from draining a battery without breaking the cicuit.. my guess is no..
heres what happend.. i didn't drive my car for about 3 of 4 days.. i go out to start and nothing.. test battery.. nothing.. try to charge.. nothing.. so i buy a new battery (canadian tire motormaster battery).. now the way caps work is they charge up to peak and slowly discharge (the whole point).. but seems my 2farad (or is it 4) cap must have a lot of leakage because after 4 days it had complety drained a fully charged battery..
Any ideas besides a different type of battery?
Alpine Guy 
Platinum - Posts: 2,478
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: February 24, 2008 at 5:55 PM / IP Logged  
The battery went dead again? Well first thing I would do is do a current test at the battery to see how many milli amps are being drawn with and without the cap. If you see no change then it's not your cap, it will be something else causing the drain.
2003 Chevy Avalanche,Eclipse CD7000,Morel Elate 5,Adire Extremis,Alpine PDX-4.150, 15" TC-3000, 2 Alpine PDX-1.1000, 470Amp HO Alt.
eaks 
Copper - Posts: 62
Copper spacespace
Posted: February 24, 2008 at 6:48 PM / IP Logged