icon

setting up car stereo system?

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
99goblin 
Member - Posts: 5
Member spacespace
Posted: March 07, 2008 at 4:03 PM / IP Logged  

Hey, not sure if this is in the right section but here it goes.

I recently purchased

2- 12" JL W6 subwoofer, 1 Audison LRX 1.1K amplifier (1100RMS), and a 1.3 farad Audison Connection Capacitor... '

I have all of the equipment installed. and all of the wires ran. The problem is i am new to the car audio world and dont know much. I dont want to mess anything up. If someone could describe in as much detail as possible how to set this up i would appreciate that... I know i have to run my amp at 1 ohm to provide enough power to each of the subs.... any help/ diagrams would be appreciated... anything else you need to know just ask. Thanks

sedate 
Silver - Posts: 1,173
Silver spacespace
Posted: March 07, 2008 at 4:07 PM / IP Logged  

Wow - uhh that is some awfully impressive equipment for someone who is "new to the car audio world" - if all your wires are ran - then what - exactly - do you need to know?

Ask specific questions.

"I'm finished!" - Daniel Plainview
99goblin 
Member spacespace
Posted: March 07, 2008 at 4:21 PM / IP Logged  

well, i had a system from futurshop before :S it was pretty simple to setup... but this on seems to be a bit more complex.

anyways i guess my questions are as follows:

How do i charge my cap? Ive heard this needs to be done...

How do i wire my subs to ensure a 1 ohm load?

Where do i connect the small (18-24 guage) wire coming from the head unit? ( i know its at the amp but not surewhere)

I know i have to run power from battery to fuse, fuse to cap, cap to amp.... the ground from amp to cap and cap to ground....

hopefully you understand what im asking/looking for/the system i am trying to setup... thanks for the help

mcben789 
Copper - Posts: 171
Copper spacespace
Posted: March 08, 2008 at 5:09 PM / IP Logged  
Capacitor installation/charging