the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

half ohm amp


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
willdkartunes 
Copper - Posts: 250
Copper spacespace
Joined: February 01, 2006
Location: United States
Posted: April 04, 2008 at 11:09 PM / IP Logged  
Does anybody know where I can find an amp with around 2000watts rms @ .5 ohm stable (or more watts at .5 ohm)
Do whatever makes you happy in life without diminishing the happiness of others
tattooedkaos 
Member - Posts: 20
Member spacespace
Joined: March 25, 2008
Location: Ohio, United States
Posted: April 05, 2008 at 12:22 AM / IP Logged  
well I have come to learn that the closer you push the amp to it's max ohm load, the more distortion and efficiency loss you have. I am in no way an expert, actually having just learned these things myself recently! Are you looking for a mono or 2 channel amp?
60% of the time it works every time!
DYohn 
Moderator - Posts: 10,740
Moderator spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: April 22, 2003
Location: Arizona, United States
Posted: April 05, 2008 at 10:23 AM / IP Logged  
US Amps used to make some really good 1/2-ohm stable amps (that cost around $1000) and there is the venerable Orion 250HCCA which is designed to handle a 1/2 ohm load.  Whay do you need to wire at 1/2 ohm?
Support the12volt.com
haemphyst 
Platinum - Posts: 5,053
Platinum spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: January 19, 2003
Location: Michigan, Bouvet Island
Posted: April 05, 2008 at 10:34 AM / IP Logged  
I can't think of ANYTHING today (in any kind of respectable name with REAL power specifications...) that will do .5 ohms. Like DYohn says, USAmps made some really nice ones (never had any experience with those, personally) and the original Orion reds would do .5 ohms. (I actually PERSONALLY ran a 225HCCA bridged into .5 ohms, for .25 ohms per channel... Sure, I had to modify it with a larger power and ground cable, and forced cooling, but it DID it.) Both the 225HCCA and the 250HCCA should be available on eBay.
I also echo the closing question from DYohn: Why do you need to wire at 1/2 ohm?
It all reminds me of something that Molière once said to Guy de Maupassant at a café in Vienna: "That's nice. You should write it down."
tattooedkaos 
Member - Posts: 20
Member spacespace
Joined: March 25, 2008
Location: Ohio, United States
Posted: April 05, 2008 at 10:55 AM / IP Logged  
a friend of mine is looking to sell one of those amps, I am not for sure whether it is a 250 or a 225, i know it's huge, red and about 2' long. I can check with him later tonight about model and price, all I can remember him saying about it is that it did .5ohm stable
60% of the time it works every time!
tattooedkaos 
Member - Posts: 20
Member spacespace
Joined: March 25, 2008
Location: Ohio, United States
Posted: April 05, 2008 at 10:58 AM / IP Logged  
actually, come to think about it, I think he said it was a HCCA 275
60% of the time it works every time!
tattooedkaos 
Member - Posts: 20
Member spacespace
Joined: March 25, 2008
Location: Ohio, United States
Posted: April 05, 2008 at 11:03 AM / IP Logged  
sorry to post so many times so fast, I just got off the phone with him, it is an Orion HCCA 275 G4, it can easily do 1800 watts RMS at .5ohm stable, given that you supply it the raw power it needs, it has 6-30amp fuses
60% of the time it works every time!
haemphyst 
Platinum - Posts: 5,053
Platinum spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: January 19, 2003
Location: Michigan, Bouvet Island
Posted: April 05, 2008 at 11:05 AM / IP Logged  
The 275 is NOT the same thing as the 225/250. While still a good amp, (and if you can get it for a good price - do so) I wouldn't push that one past .5 ohms per channel.
It all reminds me of something that Molière once said to Guy de Maupassant at a café in Vienna: "That's nice. You should write it down."
tattooedkaos 
Member - Posts: 20
Member spacespace
Joined: March 25, 2008
Location: Ohio, United States
Posted: April 05, 2008 at 1:04 PM / IP Logged  
what would you consider a good price? I don't know anything about older amps, and my buddy wants $450 for that one, and to me that seems a bit steep, but what do I know?
60% of the time it works every time!
willdkartunes 
Copper - Posts: 250
Copper spacespace
Joined: February 01, 2006
Location: United States
Posted: April 05, 2008 at 2:06 PM / IP Logged  

DYohn wrote:
US Amps used to make some really good 1/2-ohm stable amps (that cost around $1000) and there is the venerable Orion 250HCCA which is designed to handle a 1/2 ohm load. 

Of course Orion came to mind right away (I love orion in case most people on here didn't know), but I would have to search for a used one on ebay since I stupidly sold all of my older Orion gear years ago. With the prices people were offering me on that stuff, I just couldn't pass it up. Anyway, buying used on Ebay is sketchy at best. I certainly don't trust most people with ANY used electronics, ESPECIALLY amps. If I knew someone credible with an Orion 250HCCA, then I would buy it in a heartbeat.

DYohn wrote:
Whay do you need to wire at 1/2 ohm

I need a 1/2 ohm stable amp to hook up to the IA DP 12D1 that I purchased. I am looking for a little edge over the competition that is coming up. They only take the 4 ohm rating of the amp. So if I was running a really high amount of wattage at 1/2 ohm, then I would still be in a low wattage class due to them only taking the 4 ohm ratings.

I have heard some people say that you can take a 1ohm stable amp and hook it up to a sub/subs that are wired at .5 ohms and play it for competition purposes and it will work (couple seconds burp). This has me thinking about a couple of things when I hear people say this:

1) Most amplifiers now have a protection circuit that will shut the amplifier off when it is seeing on ohm load that the amplifier is not capable of handling.

2) For amplifiers that do not have this protection circuit, running ohm loads lower than the manufacture suggests is a little dangerous to say the least.... I would rather not open my trunk and find anything on fire.

3) Would an amp that is capable of producing 1800watts rms @ 1 ohm be able to produce more watts rms @ 1/2 ohm? I would think this is certainly possible, so I will go out on a limb and answer yes to my own question for this one.

If it is not possible to squeeze more power than rated, then the risk is not worth it.

Do whatever makes you happy in life without diminishing the happiness of others
Page of 2

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Sunday, September 25, 2022 • Copyright © 1999-2022 the12volt.com, All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy & Use of Cookies
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

Secured by Sectigo
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Support the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer