icon

box advice

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
daboss593 
Copper - Posts: 154
Copper spacespace
Posted: April 05, 2008 at 10:05 AM / IP Logged  
capt super noob here. well we all know about the big box debate. im almost ready to put my subs in which are not junk, but not the best either. a pair of 1252w infinities. running at 2 ohms. at this time ive got a bandpass box. i do listen to alot of low bass rap, and techno. ive emailed infinity they said it would work fine in this type of incloser. well i wanted some pro advice. ive also seen some stuff to put in the boxes these days that will help with sound issues. aka filler etc. as always  being a noob in car audio, all opinions are welcome please thanx.
OWWWWWWWWWWW you said you discharged the cap!
haemphyst 
Platinum - Posts: 5,054
Platinum spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: April 05, 2008 at 10:23 AM / IP Logged  
If low is what you are after, I think that chasing the bandpass solution is the wrong path. Bandpasses will offer very good efficiency, but not low, unless the enclosure is as big as the car is.
I think you'll do WAY better off with a large-ish vented enclosure. Tuning will be something you'll have to play with, but tuned for somewhere around 40Hz will offer loud, while still offering some amount of extension.
It all reminds me of something that Molière once said to Guy de Maupassant at a café in Vienna: "That's nice. You should write it down."
daboss593 
Copper spacespace
Posted: April 07, 2008 at 4:22 AM / IP Logged  

yeah after doing a little more research. im going to go ahead with a vented box around 35-45 hrz tuned. thanx for the input.

daboss593 
Copper spacespace
Posted: April 07, 2008 at 2:51 PM / IP Logged