the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

99 wrangler manual compustar 2w900fm


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
co_crawler 
Member - Posts: 16
Member spacespace
Joined: April 04, 2008
Location: Colorado, United States
Posted: April 18, 2008 at 9:04 PM / IP Logged  
I am thinking about installing a Compustar 2W900FM-AS and alarm on my manual jeep wrangler, 99.
1-how does the alarm work if I dont have power doorlocks as I have the removeable full steel doors?
2-Will DEI relay's and proximity sensors work with this model?
3-Is this model specifically made for a manual as I was told?
4-I heard that I will need an immobilizer bypass 555CW from dei as well?
Thanks alot!
KarTuneMan 
Platinum - Posts: 7,056
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Joined: December 14, 2004
Location: Isle Of Man
Posted: April 18, 2008 at 11:09 PM / IP Logged  

The alarm will work provided you have working door pins. As far as the locks go...... there are units made for this specific application.

Heres a link, theses door contact switches allow you to lockunlock the doors when closed only.  Add some actuators

Part # 90-350 On page 25

co_crawler 
Member - Posts: 16
Member spacespace
Joined: April 04, 2008
Location: Colorado, United States
Posted: April 19, 2008 at 12:03 AM / IP Logged  
I dont get it what do you mean exactly?
mikvot 
Gold - Posts: 1,043
Gold spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: December 19, 2006
Location: Missouri, United States
Posted: April 19, 2008 at 11:00 AM / IP Logged  

He's saying you could add doorlocks to the vehicle and still be able to pull the doors off without having to unplug anything, or having wires in the door jamb. Part is on page 38.

When you have the doors off however, the alarm will not have a way to monitor the doorpins, so only the shock and whatever additional sensors you have will trigger the alarm.

Yes, the system is manual or automatic capable. I have that one on my manual tranny Ranger.

co_crawler 
Member - Posts: 16
Member spacespace
Joined: April 04, 2008
Location: Colorado, United States
Posted: April 19, 2008 at 12:00 PM / IP Logged  
So i dont have to add power doorlocks? I understand that the actuator will work with the stock doorlocks right? I did search and found those on another thread but this guy installed power locks and I am on a budget right now. Wonder how much power locks would add to the project...
mikvot 
Gold - Posts: 1,043
Gold spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: December 19, 2006
Location: Missouri, United States
Posted: April 19, 2008 at 1:39 PM / IP Logged  

Yes, the actuator will work the doorlocks. The jeep would lock and unlock with the alarm. Nope, you don't have to add them right away, the alarm will work with or without them. Check the link for some prices. You'll need two relays and an actuator per door. http://www.sonicelectrnix.com/cat_i510_alarm-installation-and-accessories.html

Where you at in CO....I used to live in Ft. collins, worked in Denver......miss the hell out of it.

co_crawler 
Member - Posts: 16
Member spacespace
Joined: April 04, 2008
Location: Colorado, United States
Posted: April 20, 2008 at 12:30 PM / IP Logged  
mikvot wrote:

Yes, the actuator will work the doorlocks. The jeep would lock and unlock with the alarm. Nope, you don't have to add them right away, the alarm will work with or without them. Check the link for some prices. You'll need two relays and an actuator per door. http://www.sonicelectrnix.com/cat_i510_alarm-installation-and-accessories.html

Where you at in CO....I used to live in Ft. collins, worked in Denver......miss the hell out of it.

I moved away from crested butte a year ago. My brother is still out there and I plan on moving back sooner or later.
I am a little confused still. If I do NOT add power doorlocks the alarm will still work if someone opens the door right? Thanks again
mikvot 
Gold - Posts: 1,043
Gold spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: December 19, 2006
Location: Missouri, United States
Posted: April 20, 2008 at 7:06 PM / IP Logged  
Yes, even if you don't add the door locks, if someone opens the doors, the alarm will go off.
co_crawler 
Member - Posts: 16
Member spacespace
Joined: April 04, 2008
Location: Colorado, United States
Posted: April 21, 2008 at 5:17 PM / IP Logged  
what about a proximity sensor to go with this alarm? Does it come with one or will I have to add one?

Sorry, you can NOT post a reply.
This topic is closed.

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Friday, May 27, 2022 • Copyright © 1999-2022 the12volt.com, All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy & Use of Cookies
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

Secured by Sectigo
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Support the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer