icon

subs

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
cb7green 
Member - Posts: 6
Member spacespace
Posted: June 07, 2008 at 12:17 AM / IP Logged  

whats up to everyone at 12volt. i'm new to this and i was wondering if someone can help me. i wanna buy 2  rockford fosgate P3D212 daul voice coils 1000w peak 500w rms. what i wanna know is would i need an amp thats 1000w rms or 500w rms to push this bad boys? thank for the help

dwarren 
Platinum - Nominee - Posts: 1,811
Platinum - Nominee spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: June 07, 2008 at 12:27 AM / IP Logged  

Ideally you would want an amp that is capable of delivering 1000 watts at your final ohm load, so that each woofer will receive 500 watts. Certainely you could use a 500 watt amp but, those subs would be happier with 400-500 watts a piece. If I am not mistaken those are 2 ohm dual voice coil woofers which will yield a 2 ohm load if wired in a series/parallel, so be sure to get an amp capable of 1000 watts @ 2 ohms, pretty standard for most class D sub amps.

Disregard "peak power" ratings. They will not apply to you.

cb7green 
Member spacespace
Posted: June 07, 2008 at 12:53 AM / IP Logged  
thanks for the info now that i remember the subs are DV 4 ohm which i will wire to the 1 ohm load with the rockford amp P1000 1000w rms at 1 ohm stable. does that sound about right or am i gonna push them to hard. thanks again
dwarren 
Platinum - Nominee - Posts: 1,811
Platinum - Nominee spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: June 07, 2008 at 1:05 AM / IP Logged  

cb7green wrote:
thanks for the info now that i remember the subs are DV 4 ohm which i will wire to the 1 ohm load with the rockford amp P1000 1000w rms at 1 ohm stable. does that sound about right or am i gonna push them to hard. thanks again