icon

location of 2 wires, 97 4runner

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
Joe_coolish 
Member - Posts: 2
Member spacespace
Posted: June 22, 2008 at 6:21 PM / IP Logged  
Ok, I'm pretty new with cars, so I figured the best way to learn is buy a cheap-o and . . . well learn :) I bought a 97 4runner (SR5 auto trans) an alarm system and sound system and got both in with little to no problem, so I thought. . .hmmm how bout a remote starter :) I have it installed up to the last 2 wires. The Tach wire and the key side of the starter. I figured that the key side of the starter would be the other wire coming off the key, but there wasn't another wire! there were 2 12v const, the ignition, starter, and accessory. Nothing else!?! Unless I missed something. So, where do I find the key side of the starter? Also, the tach wire in the wiring diagrams of this site said that I could find it off the black wire in the Diagnostic port. well, there wasn't a black wire there. there was a white and black one, but no solid black on. I read in a post that you could find it in the ECM, which is on the pass side somewhere. But they said it was a blue wire, and there are many blue wires. So where could i find it? I don't want to hurt the truck, it looks nice, and I really want it to last me a while.
Thanks for the advice
There are 10 types of people in this world, those who know binary and those who don't!
i am an idiot 
Platinum - Posts: 13,670
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Posted: June 22, 2008 at 7:15 PM / IP Logged  

The starter wire goes from the ignition switch to the starter solenoid.  The end of the wire that goes to the key cylinder is the key side of the starter.  The end that goes to the solenoid is called the starter side.

ringojam 
Copper - Posts: 215
Copper spacespace
Posted: June 22, 2008 at 7:54 PM / IP Logged