is a relay what i need? 2 amps, pwr wire

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
tcwave 
Member - Posts: 38
Member spacespace
Posted: June 27, 2008 at 7:50 PM / IP Logged  

Hi Guys,

I am running 2 amps,.  a 300w and a 400w.  Individually, i can get each amp to run great.  When both hooked up, my 400w amp powering my side speakers fades in and out of power.  I traced the problem back to the pwr wire coming from my Head unit (kenwood)  When it is wired diredtly to the 400w amp, there is no issue.  When the 300w is also attached, it begins fading.      Is a relay going to solve this?  If so, can you let me know what type/size?  I have no experience with relays but am trying to do some research now.  i appreciate your help.

Thanks,

TC

i am an idiot 
Platinum - Posts: 13,670
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Posted: June 27, 2008 at 8:10 PM / IP Logged  

Do you have the power wires of the amps connected to the battery?   Have you used a meter to verify that the voltage is dropping on the Blue/White wire of your radio?  This is the wire that should be connected to the remote terminal of your amps.

tcwave 
Member spacespace
Posted: June 27, 2008 at 8:19 PM / IP Logged  

Yeah, everything works great when the blue/white wire off my radio is only connected to one amp.  Soon as I put two amps on it, the 400w starts fading out.   

I haven't tried a meter only cause I didn't have it with me at the time.   But given that keeping everything else the same except for when I move that wire, I am fairly certin its it.

As for the way I am connecting the 3 wires.  I have tried two methods.  First was to wrap to together in a spiral then put them in a red crimp, then but the 3rd wire in the other side and crimp it.   The second method was to just wrap all three wires together.  i tried to keep them long and then braid them together, then wrap them in a spiral.

i appreciate your help.

Tc

jar754 
Copper - Posts: 142