the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

problem with remote start 03 jetta


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
hectordagreat11 
Member - Posts: 12
Member spacespace
Joined: July 16, 2007
Location: United States
Posted: July 17, 2008 at 4:37 PM / IP Logged  
Hi guys, I am having trouble getting a remote start/alarm to work on my 2003 jetta
the alarm is an audiovox AX901 and I am using a 556U to bypass the immobilizer.
The problem I am running into is when I try to remote start the car, the dash lights come on but it never cranks...Ive noticed that the immobilizer light is flashing.
note-before i attached the tach wire, the car would remote start and die right after. It did this four times and then the remote start would stop trying.
Now that the tach is attached (I connected to a wire on one of the injectors) it is not even cranking.
Is it possible the tach source is bad? what does the immobolizer light mean?
im really stuck guys, help will be greatly appreciated!
chriswallace187 
Gold - Posts: 1,661
Gold spacespace
Joined: March 11, 2002
Location: Pennsylvania, United States
Posted: July 17, 2008 at 4:54 PM / IP Logged  
Did you use the diagram for the 556U that says "this method will work on European vehicles"? That's been in my experience the only way that works on VWs.
C Renner's Auto Electronix
My service is cheap, quick, and good - pick any two
hectordagreat11 
Member - Posts: 12
Member spacespace
Joined: July 16, 2007
Location: United States
Posted: July 17, 2008 at 5:41 PM / IP Logged  
yes it calls for the BLACK/ red and BLACK/ white wires of the antenna to be spliced to the key side and the black wire to the engine side of the wire.
gus1 
Gold - Posts: 1,013
Gold spacespace
Joined: October 15, 2003
Location: Canada
Posted: July 18, 2008 at 8:01 AM / IP Logged  
And you are on the really small twisted green and black wires that are on the key reader side of the steering column?
Does it crank with the key?
Is this a standard or an automatic?
Wherever I go, that is where I end up......
hectordagreat11 
Member - Posts: 12
Member spacespace
Joined: July 16, 2007
Location: United States
Posted: July 18, 2008 at 10:45 AM / IP Logged  
yes i spliced into the small green wire
if i put the key in the ignition and remote start it, it wont start
ive noticed that if i put the key in the ignition and turn it to ON and then i remote start, it does remote start and i can take the key out and the car stays on
its an automatic
hectordagreat11 
Member - Posts: 12
Member spacespace
Joined: July 16, 2007
Location: United States
Posted: July 19, 2008 at 1:02 AM / IP Logged  
bump still looking for help!
chriswallace187 
Gold - Posts: 1,661
Gold spacespace
Joined: March 11, 2002
Location: Pennsylvania, United States
Posted: July 19, 2008 at 7:50 PM / IP Logged  
hectordagreat11 wrote:
yes i spliced into the small green wire
if i put the key in the ignition and remote start it, it wont start
ive noticed that if i put the key in the ignition and turn it to ON and then i remote start, it does remote start and i can take the key out and the car stays on
its an automatic
Do you mean that when you start the car with the key you can do a valet take-over? Or do you mean it will remote start with the ignition on but the car not running?
C Renner's Auto Electronix
My service is cheap, quick, and good - pick any two
hectordagreat11 
Member - Posts: 12
Member spacespace
Joined: July 16, 2007
Location: United States
Posted: July 19, 2008 at 8:30 PM / IP Logged  
the second one...
gus1 
Gold - Posts: 1,013
Gold spacespace
Joined: October 15, 2003
Location: Canada
Posted: July 20, 2008 at 6:51 PM / IP Logged  
One ignition that is black
One accessory that is probably BLACK/ red
One start wire that is RED / stripe.
Make sure this is getting powered properly at the key. Doesn't sound like an RFID issue, as just sticking the key in the ignition and hitting remote start (you reconnected the cut green wire so that the OEM key is only being read, right?) would determine that.
This is a pretty simple car in all honesty, it is either an RFID problem, or something is not being powered properly at the key (only 3 wires necessary......). Eliminate one of the possibles, and the root issue will be easy to diagnose.
Wherever I go, that is where I end up......
hectordagreat11 
Member - Posts: 12
Member spacespace
Joined: July 16, 2007
Location: United States
Posted: July 22, 2008 at 4:42 PM / IP Logged  
i have solved the 556U issue...for some reason the bypass only works when u use the will NOT work on european vehicles.
so now the problem is the car doesnt crank during remote start. I tested the starter wire during remote start and it shows no voltage during crank.
i tested the same place (green and purple starter wire) while i start the car with the key, manually. voltage reads during crank. wth?
I also realized that if disconnect the tach wire, the car remote starts, but dies. can I run the car tachless? how do I do this?

Sorry, you can NOT post a reply.
This topic is closed.

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Tuesday, February 27, 2024 • Copyright © 1999-2024 the12volt.com, All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy & Use of Cookies
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

Secured by Sectigo
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Support the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer