the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

car head unit and amp in home


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
mp2031 
Member - Posts: 7
Member spacespace
Joined: July 22, 2008
Location: Australia
Posted: July 23, 2008 at 7:25 PM / IP Logged  
has anyone here done this kind of thing ? , as i would like to get a more suitable power supply for this maybe something that can put out around 1000w with no trouble
Miles
advanced_audio 
Copper - Posts: 170
Copper spacespace
Joined: July 07, 2006
Location: United States
Posted: July 23, 2008 at 7:29 PM / IP Logged  
Is it fused? If so what size fuses are in there?
haemphyst 
Platinum - Posts: 5,053
Platinum spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: January 19, 2003
Location: Michigan, Bouvet Island
Posted: July 24, 2008 at 10:28 PM / IP Logged  
If you want to run 1000 watts of amplifier power, then you need 2000 watts of power supply. While that is not a hard and fast number, it is a good rule of thumb.
2000\13.8=145A
That's a HUGE power supply. I have a 100A power supply in my garage, and it is welded to a 4 wheeled cart. It weighs somewhere in the vicinity of 175 pounds!
It all reminds me of something that Molière once said to Guy de Maupassant at a café in Vienna: "That's nice. You should write it down."
mp2031 
Member - Posts: 7
Member spacespace
Joined: July 22, 2008
Location: Australia
Posted: July 24, 2008 at 10:43 PM / IP Logged  
oh yeah i see , can i use 2x13.8v1000w power supplys ? or will this not work ?
haemphyst 
Platinum - Posts: 5,053
Platinum spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: January 19, 2003
Location: Michigan, Bouvet Island
Posted: July 24, 2008 at 11:43 PM / IP Logged  
Analog (meaning big, heavy) power supplies don't care about their outputs being paralleled. No issues with doing that.
Switch-mode power supplies... Ummm... not so much. Before you try to parallel those, check to be ABSOLUTELY CERTAIN it can be done.
It all reminds me of something that Molière once said to Guy de Maupassant at a café in Vienna: "That's nice. You should write it down."
mp2031 
Member - Posts: 7
Member spacespace
Joined: July 22, 2008
Location: Australia
Posted: July 25, 2008 at 7:19 PM / IP Logged  
ok , im getting a tailor made power supply @ 2000w 13.8 v Dc 145 amps ,
i will let you know how it goes .
car head unit and amp in home - Page 2 - Last Post -- posted image.
Page of 2

Sorry, you can NOT post a reply.
This topic is closed.

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Friday, January 27, 2023 • Copyright © 1999-2023 the12volt.com, All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy & Use of Cookies
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

Secured by Sectigo
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Support the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer