the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

amp mounting ford 1997 escort


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
frizkysquirrel 
Member - Posts: 47
Member spacespace
Joined: January 13, 2008
Location: Michigan, United States
Posted: August 15, 2008 at 3:21 AM / IP Logged  
i have a 1997 ford escort sport.
i was wondering if mounting my amplifier to the back of the fold down seats is a wise idea. if i mount it to them it will be mounted at about the angle of this slash--> / <--on this side.
that means it will be slightly past vertical, kind of upside down.
good idea? bad idea? go with an amp rack instead?
thanks much.
jazzcustom131 
Copper - Posts: 175
Copper spacespace
Joined: October 10, 2004
Location: United States
Posted: August 15, 2008 at 3:48 AM / IP Logged  
putting it on that angle would cause all the heat generated internally to stay inside the amp and cook away.
I personally would be found with a sawz-all on the chassis to make room for fans, but that voids warranties and requires a good bit more work.
Amp rack, or find somewhere else to put the amp where it still can expel its own heat.
Greed is for amateurs.
Disorder,chaos,anarchy now THAT is fun!!
megaman 
Copper - Posts: 385
Copper spacespace
Joined: June 24, 2008
Location: Montana, United States
Posted: August 15, 2008 at 11:09 AM / IP Logged  
I install amps on the back of seats all day long.  If you're mindful to keep air circulation around it, and the amp is not pushed too hard, you'll be fine.  Most people around my parts put the amp on the box, which to me is completely retarded.  Makes it almost impossible for the customer to pull the box out for hauling extra gear, and makes it a quick "grab-n-go" for would be thieves.
frizkysquirrel 
Member - Posts: 47
Member spacespace
Joined: January 13, 2008
Location: Michigan, United States
Posted: August 15, 2008 at 11:51 AM / IP Logged  
yea, i would never even begin to think about mounting it on my box.
im too unsure about how rigid my box is to even think about that.
the only reason i have brought up this question is because i have had to amps fail in this location lately.
the first one, both were hifonics txi1508D(which could be the problem right there, hifonics haha), was mounted there and went into protect and wouldnt come out and after testing it a few differnt ways came to the conclusion something came loose inside and caused the output to be putting out a DC signal.
so i sent it back got a replacement. this one was worse though. hooked it up gain was slightly over half, i set it with my multimeter and 50 htz, and bass boost was slightly under half. lowpass at about 80 htz, subsonic at 20 htz. i checked my ground resistances and made sure it would be running smoothly. after five minutes playing some song at 28 out of 35 on my HU, i smelt something wrong, stopped the car and popped the trunk and found smoke pouring from the amp, haha. man was i mad. i noticed my inline fuse had blown, so im guessing something went wrong inside and it started drawing excessive current.
well anyways i sent that back and said the heck with hifonics and im getting a orion HCCA-2400D. hopefully will perform better.
jazzcustom131 
Copper - Posts: 175
Copper spacespace
Joined: October 10, 2004
Location: United States
Posted: August 15, 2008 at 4:27 PM / IP Logged  
I feel like such a tool, because now that I think about it, one of my amps is located in the same manner in my Explorer.
But now that I fix circuit boards for a living I know better than to do that, but I also have had my JBL amp like that for a year and have had no problems... I'll be moving my amps just because it bugs me, lol :)
If you think that may be a part of the problem, move it, can't hurt.
Greed is for amateurs.
Disorder,chaos,anarchy now THAT is fun!!
frizkysquirrel 
Member - Posts: 47
Member spacespace
Joined: January 13, 2008
Location: Michigan, United States
Posted: August 15, 2008 at 5:17 PM / IP Logged  
yea that is the same way i am, i never had any amps fail there before, but just to know it is not quite a great place to mount it bugs me, lol.
i think i may mount it on a board that will be bolted to the trunk bottom.
frizkysquirrel 
Member - Posts: 47
Member spacespace
Joined: January 13, 2008
Location: Michigan, United States
Posted: August 15, 2008 at 5:18 PM / IP Logged  
fail there before those two amps, thats what i meant..
i really wish i could edit my posts, lol.

Sorry, you can NOT post a reply.
This topic is closed.

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Wednesday, October 5, 2022 • Copyright © 1999-2022 the12volt.com, All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy & Use of Cookies
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

Secured by Sectigo
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Support the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer