add flashing lights to alarm

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
jonb2 
Copper - Posts: 59
Copper spacespace
Posted: October 18, 2008 at 10:15 AM / IP Logged  
Hi,
Thinking about buying motorcycle alarm which does not have flashing lights built in. It does have +12v output for a pager that can be used with the alarm. My understanding from the manufacturer is that this wire can be used to power a relay to light the turn indicators when the alarm is set off.
I am pretty new to electronics but willing to learn. Bike is a 2006 Kawasaki ZZR600. Any idea how I could hook up a relay (or use one already on the bike) to light up turn indicators when the alarm goes off?
thanks,Jon
ckeeler 
Gold - Posts: 1,461
Gold spacespace
Posted: October 19, 2008 at 9:22 AM / IP Logged  
add flashing lights to alarm - Last Post -- posted image.use this diagram. also, use an eletronic flasher not a thermal one, they flash too slow. a good one to use is GROTE part #44710. you can get one at any local CARQUEST parts store or MACK truck dealership.
i am an idiot 
Platinum - Posts: 13,673
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Posted: October 19, 2008 at 11:00 AM / IP Logged  

Jonb, on the 12volt output for the pager do they give you a current capacity for that wire.  If it is 200 MilliAmp or greater you will be OK using it to trigger the relay.   If your bike has no parking lights and you have only blinkers, you will need to power both the left and the right blinkers and diode isolate them.   You will need to use 6 amp diodes, they are available at RadioShack.  Let me know if you need a part number.   The below diagram is only necessary if your bike does not illuminate the blinkers when the key is turned on.

add flashing lights to alarm - Last Post -- posted image.

jonb2 
Copper spacespace
Posted: October 20, 2008 at 10:00 PM / IP Logged  
Thanks everyone for the replies!