icon

06 civic hids

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
roo-dog 
Copper - Posts: 124
Copper spacespace
Posted: December 02, 2008 at 4:15 PM / IP Logged  

hi- been on and off the forum for years, and looking to see if anyone has already done this before i start at it.  i just bought a set of low beam and a set of high beam hids for my girlfriends 2006 civic si.  i am an installer (part-time, winter work), and have installed over a dozen of these kits without a hitch.  i wont be doing the install for another month, but while installing a remote start in a 07 civic, i noticed a potential problem with the high beams.  they are single beam- but when driving, the high beams dim down to a daytiime running lights...   hmmm  i think this could be an issue as single beam kits only want to see two things: on and off.

any ideas?  i will try to poke at the car this weekend with a meter and see exactly what voltage the wires put out.    thanks

(4)g5-1244, (4)gtr12, (2)ppipcx2400, (1)pcx4125, (1)pc4800.2, (3) pair mb quart 6.5"Q, (4)optimas, alumapro (1)5 and(1)15 farad cap, premier deh-p860mp, pioneer xm -dual H.O. alternators
KarTuneMan 
Platinum - Posts: 7,056
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Posted: December 05, 2008 at 3:51 AM / IP Logged  

The issue is with the factory security..... it flashes the headlights when triggered. (NOT good for HID's)

I put a set on my 06. Static in the radio with the lights on.... not cool!  The headlight assembly's are NOT made for HID's... the glare UP, is unreal/

I would suggest a high output bulb using a relay to "turn on" the bulb.

My HID's suck..... it's big work to do the bulbs too.....

You'll see.

roo-dog 
Copper spacespace
Posted: December 05, 2008 at 12:45 PM / IP Logged