icon

2004 canyon alarm/remote start

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
happster 
Member - Posts: 5
Member spacespace
Posted: December 13, 2008 at 8:36 AM / IP Logged  

Yes, I bought the Thor CF425 before checking the blogs (sigh).  So I'm stuck with the jibberish instructions replete with typos.  Would like to install though.  I am a novice, with some experience.

I think I've figured out the wiring, with the exception of a door triggers and start sensor (that tells the unit when start was successful.  Any help? Can I diode the driver's door, and then diode the remaining door triggers together?  Do I need to diode anything else?

I also need to locate the starter sensor, which tells the unit that start has been successful.  I hear its under the hood, but could use some help with color, location, etc.  Of course, I'll check all with my multimeter and will not hold you accountable.

The central locking connections are less than clear.  The driver's door unlocks with the first press of the factory remote, and all others with the second.  What type of system is this?  Wire colors?  Connections?  There are six wires I need to hook up from the Thor (Or, Wh, Yel, Or/Blk, Wh/Blk & Yel/Blk).  Any help would be appreciated.

Any help with the wire colors for the entire system?  I found a very detailed post on a 2005 from 11/06-are the colors the same?

Also, I've read a lot about security bypass.  Do I need to do this?  I've seen some posts (for a 2005 Canyon) that suggest it is not necessary.  Would love to avoid.

The ignition wiring diagram is a little confusing too. There are two "On" ignition wires, one which is tied to the black wire from the relay set and then interupted with (2 green wires from) a breaker relay (Thor calls this the "circle of engine inflaming 'On'")???.  The second is shown tied to the white wire of the relay set (and is called "airconditioning 'On'").  Can you shed any light on this...wiring, colors, better explanation, etc.