icon

optima battery worth it?

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
whiterob 
Copper - Posts: 351
Copper spacespace
Posted: December 15, 2008 at 3:46 PM / IP Logged  
My battery just died so I need a new one. I am debating if I should buy a Red Top Optima or not. Are they worth the money. They are about twice as much as a regular battery.
I am running about 600w RMS and have a little headlight dim with the volume up. I know that I should do the big 3 upgrade first but I am putting that off til summer when it is warmer. Will a battery upgrade actually help my lights not dim as much? I know the alternator makes the power but the battery is important for quick bursts of power when the bass hits right.
I'm doubting it is worth it for me and my system but I would like another opinion. My car is a 03' Jetta btw.
antifork 
Member - Posts: 43
Member spacespace
Posted: December 15, 2008 at 4:05 PM / IP Logged  
I have had some bad experiences with Optima batteries myself( I went through 5 of them in less than 2 years with one of them still sitting in my back yard). All I know is that once they drain of power that they cannot be recharged. I think the only good thing about them that they come with a three year battery replacement warranty. It also matters what you are going to run with them too.
Just cut ur frame and drag the thing!
haemphyst 
Platinum - Posts: 5,054
Platinum spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: December 15, 2008 at 6:09 PM / IP Logged  
antifork wrote:
All I know is that once they drain of power that they cannot be recharged.
WRONG!!! The Optimas are FANTASTIC batteries, and CAN be recharged FAR more effectively than can a regular battery if discharged that deeply.