big fiberlass undertaking 4 18s

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
chase09 
Member - Posts: 3
Member spacespace
Posted: January 02, 2009 at 3:53 PM / IP Logged  
Hey guys whats up,
My name is Chase and I need some feedback. I'm relatively new to the fabrication part of car audio. I have a 2000 Mitsubishi Eclipse with four 18 inch addictive audio v3s going in it.(They don't come out until the end of January.) The backseat is out of the car and not going back in. Here's my plan as of now..
Two of the subs are going to fire towards the front seats and two towards the back hatch window on the same angle as the window itself. There are two boxes and each box is 10 cubic feet.
My questions are:
1) How do i figure out what to tune the box to?
2) If i have the air space am i crazy to put in 6 instead of 4?
3) What kind of damage should i anticipate or expect from the pressure and vibrations?
4) What brand of dampening material should I get and how many layers of it?
5) How many layers of fiberglass on the box?
Any other suggestions are greatly appreciated. I want to do this right so let me know everything and anything I may have missed or should add.
Thanks a lot,
Chase
airhed692000 
Member - Posts: 10
Member spacespace
Posted: January 02, 2009 at 8:36 PM / IP Logged  
OK this is what I'm going to ask you to do.
give me the inside measurements of your car.
1)From the back of the front seats to the back?
2)From side to side (where the hatch is and where the seats are?
3)From top to bottom of the car (where the back seat was)?
4)From the back hatch is to the floor?
I thank that is it, This is what I am going to do for you. I am going to make blue prints for you so your not left in the dark.
This will be a design from the computer program that I have that I made all my custom boxes and normal boxes from.