the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

2000 gmc sierra v8 keyless entry issues.

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
dlambe 
Copper - Posts: 57
Copper spacespace
Posted: January 22, 2009 at 4:18 PM / IP Logged  
Ok let me start of by saying I am a heavy equipment tech and pretty good with electrical issues/problems but I ran into this one and I wanted some of your more experienced guys to help me troubleshoot it. I am working on a gmc sierra, 2000, v8. The keyless entry/remote start unit is a viper one. She had a blown passenger marker light, underneath her headlight. Simple fix new bulb, but while I had that lense removed I noticed that the inner most bulb was blown and had some charring around the socket area but no burnt wiring. So I just stuck new bulbs in and proceeded to test the lights. At that time I noticed that when you hit the lock/unlock on the remote that no lights flash on the vehicle with the exception of the interior dome light. Now I asked the owner if it flashed prior to having brought it to me and they said that they used to flash front and rear with the lock/unlock on the remote. I started to think fuse somewhere so I checked all the fuses in the engine bay and in the vehicle. None are blown from what I can see. So what I need to know is what these lights are used for and if there is a relay or fuse that controls power to them so I can continue to test things and find the source of the problem.  The remote start/alarm function, lock/unlock finction all work just fine.
ckeeler 
Gold - Posts: 1,461
Gold spacespace
Posted: January 22, 2009 at 4:34 PM / IP Logged  

most viper units have a 10amp inline fuse on the parklight output wire. find the keyless unit in the dash and find the WHITE 18ga wire coming out ot the main harness. check the inline fuse on that white wire. that will be your first place to look.

loneranger 
Copper - Posts: 572
Copper spacespace