icon

fog relay/ oem momentary switch

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
themodifier 
Member - Posts: 8
Member spacespace
Posted: February 20, 2009 at 4:20 PM / IP Logged  

Newbie here. Very fog relay/ oem momentary switch -- posted image. and informative site. Looking for a little help with installing my fog lights on my 99 Silverado. I've attached a link of the factory wiring diagram. https://il88.photobucket.com/albums/z64/IMI4tth3w/foglightelectricaldiagram.gif

I am attempting to bypass the BCM(body control module). I believe that I need to install a "Latched on/off" relay(as noted on this site). https://www.the12volt.com/12voltimages/latchonoffspnd.gif

I am not sure if this is correct, because it appears that the factory relay is receiving a negative ground input from the bcm, and the latching relay would be providing a positive input according to the diagram.

Any ideas on how to properly accomplish this would be greatly appreciated. BTW, I would prefer to not use diodes.  

themodifier 
Member spacespace
Posted: February 24, 2009 at 7:17 PM / IP Logged  
I would assume by the lack of response, it is impossible to convert a negative pulse into a constant negative output via relays??fog relay/ oem momentary switch -- posted image.
Ween 
Platinum - Posts: 1,366
Platinum spacespace
Posted: February 24, 2009 at 7:26 PM / IP Logged  

hi,

the link doesn't work (at least for me).  and yes, you can convert a negative pulse to a negative output with a latching relay.  do you need to have a negative output?  an old VW headlight relay will do what you are trying to accomplish although with a positive output.  the relay is rated for 150W, good enough for two fog lights (55W bulbs of course)

m

running with sissors 'cause i can

ckeeler 
Gold - Posts: 1,461
Gold spacespace
Posted: February 24, 2009 at 7:48 PM / IP Logged  

themodifier wrote: