< Prev Topic Next Topic >
himynameisdrew 
Member - Posts: 14
Member spacespace
Posted: March 21, 2009 at 1:44 PM / IP Logged  

so heres my truck

2004 silverado 2500 HD work truck  ..crew cab 4x4 6.0L v8

what alarm will i buy? -- posted image.

this is my work truck & I usually keep tools in it, it is stripped to the bone including manual locks

I am sick of walking around to every door to lock & unlock it & would like to install power locks AND a security system to put my mind at ease.

I'm a total newb, but have been looking around... kinda overwhelming on what to buy.

what I want:

keyless entry on the same remote as the alarm

the remote to notify when truck alarm has been triggered

can anyone steer me in the right direction here, whats a good combo unit?

thanks

howie ll 
Pot Metal - Posts: 16,466
Pot Metal spacespace
Posted: March 21, 2009 at 2:55 PM / IP Logged  
If a straight alarm without remote start, get a DEI (Clifford, Viper, Hornet) product with 6 lock outputs to directly control added lock actuators,  get one with a 2 way remote, that will inform you of any theft attempts.
himynameisdrew 
Member spacespace
Posted: March 21, 2009 at 8:44 PM / IP Logged  

howie ll wrote:
If a straight alarm without remote start, get a DEI (Clifford, Viper, Hornet) product with 6 lock outputs to directly control added lock actuators,  get one with a 2 way remote, that will inform you of any theft attempts.

i've tossed around the idea of a remote start too. 

if I go that route, got any suggestions?

howie ll 
Pot Metal - Posts: 16,466
Pot Metal spacespace
Posted: March 22, 2009 at 4:39 AM / IP Logged  
Keep reading these posts, look at all the product claims, go to at least a couple of local shops, work in the business for 5 years, then ask the same question. Honestly I'm not being sarcastic at your expense,  it's like "how long is a piece of string", why didn't you buy a Ford or a Ram?. I would also add Compustar to the product list.
himynameisdrew