icon

what's wrong with my radio, 05 sunfire

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
wilsonan 
Member - Posts: 2
Member spacespace
Posted: March 26, 2009 at 5:01 PM / IP Logged  
hey there i am installing a afermarket CD player into my 2005 Pontiac Sunfire 4 door. thisis my first time doin this so srry if im a noob lol. i started off with disconnecting the power the the car by pullin the fuses in the engine block and i cut the wires goin to the stock radio. i striped the wires made the nessesary connections when i was done i had two wires left a black one (which isnt the grounding wire, there r two black wires) and a purple wire. now when i go and turn the key the deck dosent turn on. i checked the voltage with a volt meter its reading 12.3V and im reading it all the way up to the plastic connector tht goes into the back of the deck. first i thought it maybe the deck so i took it back got a new one still the same problem. i dont kno wut it is people say its the grounding, or try a new wire harness. plz help me :)
forbidden 
Platinum - Posts: 5,352
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: March 26, 2009 at 5:07 PM / IP Logged  
You cannot just cut into the harness and make it work in this car. You need to have the factory harness repaired that you just cut up and then buy the PROPER GM databus harness to make it work.
Top Secret, I can tell you but then my wife will kill me.
wilsonan 
Member - Posts: 2
Member spacespace
Posted: March 26, 2009 at 5:08 PM / IP Logged  
thank u very much ikno im bad at this but thanks
loosingmymind 
Copper - Posts: 103
Copper spacespace
Posted: March 26, 2009 at 5:11 PM / IP Logged