icon

relay to switch between 2 cameras

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
p40whk 
Copper - Posts: 50
Copper spacespace
Posted: April 10, 2009 at 7:29 PM / IP Logged  
I'm a bit of a novice when it comes to electronics but can follow a diagram so I'm going to attempt to describe what I'm trying to do and how I think it needs to be hooked up and hopefully someone here can guide me if I'm wrong.
I researched the forums but couldn't find exactly what I was looking for so I went and read the relay diagrams. What I want to do is have a switch to control the power between 2 backup cameras. I think I can hook up the RCA connection with a Y splitter and have a single switch to toggle the power between the two cameras to change the view.
If I'm understanding the way a relay works then I should hook the positive power wire from each camera to terminals 87 and 87a respectively. Then I will need to run the camera power to terminal 30 so one camera (connected to 87a) will have power when the relay is not energized. Then I need switched power with an SPST rocker switch to the coil terminal 85 with terminal 86 to ground...
If I had better drawing skills I would post the pic I drew directly in this thread but it's too big so I'll just link to it here:
http://home.fuse.net/iflyrv6/camera_switch.jpg
Please let me know if my logic is correct. I'm new here and to electronics in general so be gentle with me relay to switch between 2 cameras - Last Post -- posted image.
p40whk 
Copper spacespace
Posted: April 10, 2009 at 7:31 PM / IP Logged  
Forgot to add that this is being installed on a 2005 Ford F150.
I'm also using a bullet camera and a standard Boyo back up camera but that shouldn't make a difference.
ckeeler 
Gold - Posts: 1,461
Gold spacespace
Posted: April 10, 2009 at 7:41 PM / IP Logged