icon

video recording

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
w8lifter21 
Member - Posts: 27
Member spacespace
Posted: April 29, 2009 at 2:26 PM / IP Logged  

I am looking to install 1-2 cameras in my car seeing as how over this past winter there have been more than a few instances where landscaping employees/companies have scratched up vehicles while moving in and our of trucks trailers.  I myself being one of them, but it was on a beater car of mine so it really didn't bother me a whole lot lol.

Recording device

The biggest roadblock I have come across so far in the early stages of this project is finding a device that will alow me to record video straight to some sort of mass storage device such as an SD card, hard drive, or even an ipod.

Camera

I plan on using something similar to this camera

Sony CCD 580 Line Bullet Camera

video recording -- posted image.

I am a complete novice when it comes to camera and camera terminology.  Do I need something super high quality? No, but I would think something a little better than the china cameras found on eBay may be in order.  Or not, I have 0 experience with them, that's just me using to tried and true rule of "you get what you pay for" :)

Ideas/options as to what equipment to use for basic in car video monitoring?

Refined Performance Motorsports
robertsc 
Copper - Posts: 337
Copper spacespace
Posted: April 29, 2009 at 6:57 PM / IP Logged  

You have two options you can buy a standalone box  {digital video recorder} which will store your recordings

or you can add a capture card onto a computer and use the hardrive as tthe storage device.

w8lifter21 
Member spacespace
Posted: April 29, 2009 at 8:06 PM / IP Logged  
Capture card.....is this something I can add onto say an external hard drive by itself or are there drivers that need to be installed on a computer?
robertsc 
Copper - Posts: 337
Copper spacespace
Posted: April 29, 2009 at 9:11 PM / IP Logged  

Drivers and a card .