icon

speaker wire colors ls400

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
Turbotom 
Member - Posts: 16
Member spacespace
Posted: March 26, 2003 at 1:05 PM / IP Logged  
i'm going to be installing an amp in a '90 lexus ls400 for my friend. i need speaker wire colors to install line out converter. please help. and if you have done this car before, any tips or secrets would help. i am an experienced installer, but any extra info would make this a lot easier. thanks
tom
turbotom
esmith69 
Gold - Posts: 1,511
Gold spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: March 26, 2003 at 1:28 PM / IP Logged  

you're gonna be using a high-level converter, right? by that I mean that you're getting the inputs from the amplified signal, not the low-level signal.

I don't know the colors that come out of the factory amp, only the ones that go in to the amp.  But since it's on the output side, I would think a simple speaker popper would do the trick real quick.  And for polarity just test for positive and negative voltage for the same color wires coming out of the amp.

Turbotom 
Member - Posts: 16
Member spacespace
Posted: March 26, 2003 at 2:12 PM / IP Logged  
where is the amp? i'm using a high to low converter. amplified speaker to rca. it seems easiest.
thepencil 
Gold - Posts: 1,526
Gold spacespace
Posted: March 26, 2003 at 6:04 PM / IP Logged  
Tom,