icon

alarm recommendation

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
everend 
Member - Posts: 3
Member spacespace
Posted: July 01, 2009 at 9:40 AM / IP Logged  

I'm new to car alarms but I've been working on older 60's & 70's cars for 20 years.  I just purchased an  '01 Cherokee to use as a work truck. It already has power locks/windows so adding keyless entry should be simple and inexpensive. While looking into this I realized I should probably add a security system as well since I'll have everything apart already. I've heard stories from other Jeep owners about people busting in windows and reaching through to grab tools out of the back. I really don't like siren alarms so I probably wouldn't even plug the siren in. The 2-way pager style is the way I want to go. This way if someone does decide they really want my drill while I'm shopping in Home Depot I will be alerted when they bust the window but they won't know until I show up. (silent alarm)

As for other features:
- I don't care about remote start.
- Rolling down the windows with the remote would be handy.
- Auto-lock/unlock with ignition would be appreciated.
- I don't need an auto open on the tailgate, but I do want it to lock/unlock with the rest of the doors. Since it already does using the power lock button on the drivers door I expect it will lock/unlock with the rest using keyless entry anyway.
- Small FOB to fit easily in my pocket
- 2-way range strong enough to reach me when I'm shopping at Lowe's, in the back of the store.

Based on the research I've done already I am looking at Scytek Astra 777.  I've seen several reviews that it is a good inexpensive system. I am a little concerned about the range of the 2-way. I'm also a believer in 'you get what you pay for' so I'm reluctant to purchase a cheep system though I don't have much to spend.

tommy... 
Gold - Posts: 1,901
Gold spacespace
Posted: July 01, 2009 at 10:43 AM / IP Logged