icon

kenwood hu clipping?

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
rahn 
Member - Posts: 10
Member spacespace
Posted: August 01, 2009 at 5:12 PM / IP Logged  
I am not a pro, but not a rookie either as I have done quite a few of what I would call average installs. Anywhooo....on to the problem.
I installed a Kenwood KDC-MP438U Head unit, an Alpine MRP M500 mono amp and a single 10" sub in a boat for a friend. It already had some Sony 6.5" marine speakers in the stock locations that seem to do OK from the power built in the HU.
The problem is, when you turn the HU up to 23 on the volume control, it cuts out. I thought it was the sub amp clipping, but today I went over and turned the gain all of the way down on the amp, just to see if I could get it to quit.
The boat has a dual battery setup with a switch for Battery 1, Battery 2 or both. The battery that the amp is hooked to shows 12.6V @ rest (not running) but this thing clips whether it's running or not. Is this a voltage problem supplying the HU?
The amp is mounted under the driver's console and has plenty of air space, but I don't think the amp is the problem. Could I just pick up 12V @ the amp and run it to the HU? I would think the 8 ga. wire I have running the amp should be able to supply power to the HU as well if it isn't getting enough from the factory 12 switched source.
I've never had one give me such a fit before and I'm stumped. I appreciate any ideas you folks may be able to drop off. Thanks in advance!
DYohn 
Moderator - Posts: 10,741
Moderator spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: August 01, 2009 at 6:32 PM / IP Logged