icon

4 ohm dvc into 4 ohm load?

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
livinloud247 
Member - Posts: 33
Member spacespace
Posted: August 24, 2009 at 8:27 PM / IP Logged  
Can a single 4 ohm dvc subwoofer be wired to a 2-channel amp (bridged) to get a 4 ohm load? If so can you please describe, or post a link or picture on how to wire that?
Thanks.
livinloud247 
Member spacespace
Posted: August 24, 2009 at 9:06 PM / IP Logged  
So far the only thing I've seen is "independent wiring" where you wire each channel to each voice coil? But Idk what that will do for me ohm-load wise?
And I've also figured if you just bridge the amp to one voice coil on the sub it'll be just like a single voice coil sub? Correct me if I'm wrong? But perhaps that's bad?
t&t tech 
Platinum - Posts: 2,608
Platinum spacespace
Posted: August 24, 2009 at 9:16 PM / IP Logged  

I am no audio expert but from reading from the more knowledgeable members of this site here's what i can tell you! Yes you can wire that dvc 4ohm speaker to a bridged amp at a 4ohm load, doing just as you said using one of the coils, it isn't a bad thing and is perfectly safe, you just have to keep in mind that you would only be using one of the coils which means you wouldn't be able to drive the speaker at it's full rms power, you would have to halve this input when you adjust your gains. The lost difference of the second voice coil is only 3db which is said to not be noticed by the human ear.

I personally have installed a few small audio systems and used only one voice coil of dual voice coil subs, and have never had a problem! Cheers! Maybe the other senior members can explain it in more detail for you!

commit your way to jehovah and he will act in your behalf. psalms 37:5
i am an idiot 
Platinum - Posts: 13,667
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Posted: August 24, 2009 at 10:10 PM / IP Logged