the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

jl 250/1 no output

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
dyer 
Copper - Posts: 206
Copper spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: October 04, 2009 at 10:35 AM / IP Logged  
I've been using a JL 250/1 amplifier for almost 3 years now. It has been working flawlessly.
All of a sudden, it has stopped.
I have double checked all wiring connections and have worked backwards confirming that the issue is with the amp, nothing else.
I've worked with these amps for years, and they have always seemed bullet proof to me.
Is there an internal fuse I don't know about, or anything like that?
Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Dyer
i am an idiot 
Platinum - Posts: 13,666
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Posted: October 04, 2009 at 11:06 AM / IP Logged  
There is no fuse inside the amp.  My experience with the 250 is limited.  However the 500/1 will light up with only remote and ground connected.  So just because the amp is lit up, does not mean that it is getting power.  You did not mention if the light was on or off, so since you did not say it was not lighting up, you could have a blown fuse at your battery.  Use a volt meter to verify it is getting power.  Connect the black meter lead to the ground terminal at the amp.  Do not test it with black lead on the chassis of the car. Have you checked your speakers and wiring between the amp and the enclosure?
dyer 
Copper spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: October 04, 2009 at 12:23 PM / IP Logged  
It is getting power. Fuse is fine. It is sharing the same distribution block as my amp for my mids/highs. This amp isn't having any issues.
I have also confirmed that power is present at both the +12V and the remote terminals with my multimeter.
Ground checks out fine as well.