icon

viper 791xv stumped after diagnosing

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
gasp0h 
Member - Posts: 3
Member spacespace
Posted: October 22, 2009 at 9:04 PM / IP Logged  
I have a Viper 791xv installed into a Honda. Just had an issue with it after 4 years of no problems the other day.
I armed it, worked as normal, next day I went to unarm it, remote was not responding. I figured, dead battery (happens to the best of us lol), charged battery fully in car, still not responding, odd I thought, so I try my 2nd 2way remote. Same issue. Alarm not responding. Car turns on and runs just fine, however alarm is completely unresponsive.
Now, I am a computer engineer, so I know how to diagnose issues so tried my best at figuring out what was causing the issue with this alarm.
The LED (I never had one hooked up prior as I don't like the look of them and also believe it leads a potential thief to where your brain is) is not blinking. I hooked a spare up to my unit and it does not blink at all.
I figured that a possible issue is that the brain lost the programming for the remotes that is saved in flash memory. So I tried to reprogram. Left drivers door open, hit valet once, then second later held down until I heard tone (awesome I thought). I hit unlock on my remote. Unresponsive. :/
So next, I just so happened to have a 1 way DEI antenna from an older vehicle around that was known good last time I had used it, it is 3 wires, instead of 4 (missing the blue), however I assume the blue is for outbound communication versus inbound like this 1 way alarm had. I hook up this antenna, try the same steps. Still nothing.
I also checked all the fuses setup for this alarm, 5 in total I believe? None are broken.
From what I can assume, the alarm brain is broken, unless using a 1 way antenna on a 2 way alarm does not work, then it could be the antenna which is broken.