icon

my system w/ problems

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
sinn 
Member - Posts: 10
Member spacespace
Posted: October 27, 2009 at 1:14 AM / IP Logged  
Hi, this is my first post here so please be gentle. my system w/ problems -- posted image.
I am an old school installer, from about 20 years ago and always install all of my own stuff. I'm slowly recuperating some car audio items, after a recent theft.
The recent stuff is:
Alpine 9853
(2) 10" RF P1's
Orion HCCA 225 (Gen 2)
The stuff that didn't get stolen:
Arc Audio Foose series 6.5 components (front)
Arc Audio 4x10 coax (rear)
I just hooked the recent stuff up this past weekend and am having almost a full-range sound coming from the subs, slightly muffled though. I have beat my head in trying to adjust the headunit, it's a cruddy deck compared to the Pioneer-6900 that got five fingered.
I was wondering if I could just add some inline LPF's to the subs or should I just take a hammer to the Alpine and get another Pioneer??? my system w/ problems -- posted image.
Thanks for all replies...
sinn 
Member spacespace
Posted: October 27, 2009 at 1:17 AM / IP Logged  
Nice prompts - My truck is a 00' Chevy Silvy, ECSB, 3door my system w/ problems -- posted image.
j.reed 
Copper - Posts: 716
Copper spacespace
Posted: October 27, 2009 at 2:06 AM / IP Logged  
That was a pretty monster cheater amp back in the day. Capable of 1/4 ohm loads for burps and 16 volt charging systems. Very popular in especially in the lower wattage classes like 0-100 watt. But I'm pretty sure they didn't have on board low pass crossovers. I know my VLX-25s from USamps didn't. If not like I am thinking. The deck settings will get you no where. You simply need to add a low pass crossover to the mix to filter out the unwanted frequencies.
my system w/ problems -- posted image.
sinn 
Member spacespace
Posted: October 28, 2009 at 12:43 AM / IP Logged