the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

3 sub and 3 mono amp


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
euph0 
Member - Posts: 6
Member spacespace
Joined: November 08, 2009
Location: Australia
Posted: November 08, 2009 at 11:41 PM / IP Logged  
Hi there,
Friend of mine wants me to install his 3 x SWX-1243D Alpine subs and has purchased 3 x PDX-1.1000 amps to power them. I can wire the 3 subs into a 2.7 Ohm load no problem if i was using 1 mono amp... But how would i go about wiring the 3 amps to the subs off the one signal?
Can they be daisy chained? How would i run the RCA's?
Any help is appreciated, thanks.
j.reed 
Copper - Posts: 716
Copper spacespace
Joined: January 05, 2009
Location: Arkansas, United States
Posted: November 08, 2009 at 11:55 PM / IP Logged  
The amp has RCA input and pass through RCA for out. You simply run RCA from the deck to the first amps input. Then out from amp one's output to the next amp and once more out to the third. If you want to control volume to all three amps. An easy way to have volume control to all three would be, an inline PAC LC-1. It will allow you to have adjustable sub volume control and since it will be in line with the amps it will control input signal to all three.
3 sub and 3 mono amp -- posted image.
euph0 
Member - Posts: 6
Member spacespace
Joined: November 08, 2009
Location: Australia
Posted: November 09, 2009 at 1:12 AM / IP Logged  
Thanks a lot, i think i'll just set the gains and leave them so i won't really need the LC-1.
How would i wire the power to them? There will be 4 PDX amps in total, in the boot(trunk.. excuse me bing Aussie haha) is 0wire guage overkill and then just a 4-way distribution block to the amps? Where would i fuse them and using what size fuses? and is there anything else you would suggest? I'm making a list of wiring an accessories to purchase and don't want to leave anything out.
Thanks again.
blackcivichatch 
Copper - Posts: 229
Copper spacespace
Joined: January 27, 2009
Location: Missouri, United States
Posted: November 09, 2009 at 11:25 AM / IP Logged  
0 gauge should be ok. You will need a 1 input 4 output distribution block. use the biggest wire that those PDX amps will accept. Youre gonna need RCA cable from the deck to the first amp, then another cable from amp 1 to amp 2, and another from amp 2 to amp 3.
Im guessint that the 4th PDK amp is goint go be running the highs? If your deck has a subwoofer RCA output, that should go th the 3 PDX 1000s and then youll need another RCA cable from the deck to the amp for the highs.
AS for fuses, add up all the fuses on all 4 amps. Use that Value for the fuse next to the battery. And if you want to play it extra safe, you can put a fuse between each amp and the distribution block.
UNLABELED Custom Car Club President
j.reed 
Copper - Posts: 716
Copper spacespace
Joined: January 05, 2009
Location: Arkansas, United States
Posted: November 09, 2009 at 6:42 PM / IP Logged  
If you dont have one already you are going to need to upgrade the big 3 and an alt with that kind of current draw as well. Also depending on the 4th amp and length of runs. You may need more than one run of 0 gauge. What is the 4th amp?
3 sub and 3 mono amp -- posted image.
euph0 
Member - Posts: 6
Member spacespace
Joined: November 08, 2009
Location: Australia
Posted: November 27, 2009 at 10:44 PM / IP Logged  
Hi the battery is being upgraded to an optima yellow top D34. The 4th amp is a PDX-4.100 that will power Type-X splits and type-r coax speakers.
I have all the power/ground i will need. My only question now is, what gauge speaker wire will i use for the 2 sets of speakers? I'm thinking 12 gauge.. Would this also suffice for the subs? or should i get bigger speaker wire for the 3 subs? The run from mono amp to sub will only be about 1 ft.
Finally, with the remote lead that goes to the head deck, that input is already wired to the power antenna on the car. How should i wire the 4-remote amp wires to the headdeck and what gauge would i use?
Do i just splice them together or get a distro block that handles the (18 gauge?) wire and run one to the deck. Thats confusing me the most. Obviously.
Appreciate the help guys.
armymp90099 
Copper - Posts: 76
Copper spacespace
Joined: July 05, 2009
Location: Illinois, United States
Posted: December 02, 2009 at 12:55 PM / IP Logged  
what the hell does this guy do for a living to be able to buy that kind of equpiment? lol whenever you are trying to run power or ground to multiple sources a distribution block will be your friend. even with remote wires you can also daisy chain them if you are careful.
-ETS-
Escape The Scilence
euph0 
Member - Posts: 6
Member spacespace
Joined: November 08, 2009
Location: Australia
Posted: December 02, 2009 at 1:08 PM / IP Logged  
Hey thanks for the reply,
I have distro blocks for the power and ground wires... should i run a third for the remote wires? What gauge wire would i use and is there a distro block that will handle wire that small?
Alternatively how would i daisy chain them?
Thanks.
armymp90099 
Copper - Posts: 76
Copper spacespace
Joined: July 05, 2009
Location: Illinois, United States
Posted: December 02, 2009 at 1:44 PM / IP Logged  
i dont know if a dist block for 18ga wire would be nessecary or even available just run the remote in the first amp then bridge it to the next and then bridge that amp to the 3rd and so on. you might need to wire that remote to a new relay and create your own accessory source just in case there is a voltage loss across the chain and doesnt turn one or two of your amps on.
-ETS-
Escape The Scilence
boogeyman 
Silver - Posts: 359
Silver spacespace
Joined: October 18, 2007
Location: Tennessee, United States
Posted: December 02, 2009 at 5:44 PM / IP Logged  
use a relay to power up your amplifiers. link
Page of 2

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Thursday, October 6, 2022 • Copyright © 1999-2022 the12volt.com, All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy & Use of Cookies
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

Secured by Sectigo
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Support the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer