icon

improved gem trigger and wait to start

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
garydp 
Member - Posts: 5
Member spacespace
Posted: November 17, 2009 at 9:49 PM / IP Logged  

I'm a novice installing an alarm and remote start on my 2002 Ford diesel and think I've found a much better installation for these items.  I found a lot of great info here and want to share what I found.

On the wait to start, everyone recommends using a 528 timer since the 2002 and up series are computer controlled.  With an engineering background, I wanted a better system and think I've found it. There is a glow plug relay on top of the engine so I took a wire from the energized side of the relay and fed it to the "wait to start" input on my remote starter.  That way I have a true signal for the wait to start instead of guessing with a timer.  The glow plug relay is a positive and the input on the remote starter is negative, so I sent the signal thru a relay to reverse the signal.  I also put a fuse and diode at the wire off the glow plug relay.  The fuse is because the engine really vibrates alot and if the wire chafes in the future at least the fuse will prevent a meltdown of the system.  The diode is just because I don't know if I need to isolate the remote from the glow plug relay.  So from the glow plug relay, I have a 10 amp fuse, then a diode with signal from the relay to the remote starter, then a "regular" relay inside the cab to reverse the polarity, and the input to the remote starter. It works perfect!  If someone sees a problem with this system please let me know otherwise I hope it helps.