the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

keep having to log in ie8


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
i am an idiot 
Platinum - Posts: 13,465
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Joined: September 21, 2006
Location: Louisiana, United States
Posted: December 01, 2009 at 5:45 PM / IP Logged  
Only one of my computers gives me trouble every couple months.  Same OS, same Antivirus software, same version of IE8, 3 of them are behind the same router.  Yet I only have the problem on one computer here, work unit never has a problem.  Problem is I have to log on several times an hour.  Any time that I have trouble refreshing a page or loading a page, I have to log back in.   I have not yet cleared cookies today.  I have done it in the past and the problem did not go away.  When it does go away, it may be allright for months.  You got anything?
the12volt 
Administrator - Posts: 3,951
Administrator spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Security and Convenience. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: March 07, 2002
Location: Louisiana, United States
Posted: December 01, 2009 at 5:50 PM / IP Logged  
Try deleting your cache and all cookies set by this site when it begins to happen. https://www.the12volt.com/installbay/remove_cookies.asp
keep having to log in ie8 -- posted image. the12volt • Support the12volt.com
i am an idiot 
Platinum - Posts: 13,465
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Joined: September 21, 2006
Location: Louisiana, United States
Posted: December 01, 2009 at 5:57 PM / IP Logged  

Thanks for the speedy response.  You must be on top of your Crystal Ball this evening.  This is the second time I tried to post this answer.  I got booted the first time.  It only lasts a few days.  It has been doing it all day. 

I will use firefox on the problem days.  I have been on laptop ehind same router for an hour or so with no probems. 

i am an idiot 
Platinum - Posts: 13,465
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Joined: September 21, 2006
Location: Louisiana, United States
Posted: December 02, 2009 at 8:22 PM / IP Logged  

IAt any given time I may be logged onto this site on up to 3 separatee computers. 1 at work and 2 here.  Could that cause a problem.  The others never get booted.  It is always this one.

the12volt 
Administrator - Posts: 3,951
Administrator spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Security and Convenience. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: March 07, 2002
Location: Louisiana, United States
Posted: December 02, 2009 at 8:52 PM / IP Logged  

That won't cause a problem on my end. I have several machines logged in at once constantly. The problem has to be with that one computer of yours. What, if any, anti-virus,anti-spyware, firewall software are you using. Are you using the same software on the other two without the issue? If so, have you checked all of the settings to verify they are indeed the same? It's likely to be something simple on your end, it's just a matter of finding it :)

keep having to log in ie8 -- posted image. the12volt • Support the12volt.com
i am an idiot 
Platinum - Posts: 13,465
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Joined: September 21, 2006
Location: Louisiana, United States
Posted: December 02, 2009 at 9:02 PM / IP Logged  

Only difference is tie computer with the problem is wired to the router, both laptops here are wireless, they have no problems.  I have turned the firewall off on this puter, no improvement. 

Good thing you moved, you would have Steven Seagal to deal with. 

the12volt 
Administrator - Posts: 3,951
Administrator spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Security and Convenience. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: March 07, 2002
Location: Louisiana, United States
Posted: December 02, 2009 at 9:12 PM / IP Logged  

If you're referring to Windows Firewall, it shouldn't make a difference and you should turn it back on. I was mainly referring to any third party software and settings. If all of the software is the same, I'd check your settings in IE8.

Move? When did I move?

keep having to log in ie8 -- posted image. the12volt • Support the12volt.com
i am an idiot 
Platinum - Posts: 13,465
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Joined: September 21, 2006
Location: Louisiana, United States
Posted: December 02, 2009 at 9:22 PM / IP Logged  

From Jefferson Parish   Steven Seagal is a Sheriff's Deputy there.  He has a show on A&E network.  It is on now. 

The thing about it being a setting is that it works great for months at a time, then a week of probems.  Then works for months.

same AV ware on all machines, no third party firewall.

the12volt 
Administrator - Posts: 3,951
Administrator spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Security and Convenience. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: March 07, 2002
Location: Louisiana, United States
Posted: December 02, 2009 at 9:29 PM / IP Logged  

That was about 20 years ago.

Do you use that computer more than the others?  Are you surfing other sites more often on that one than the others? Do you have the same issue with Firefox on that computer?

keep having to log in ie8 -- posted image. the12volt • Support the12volt.com
i am an idiot 
Platinum - Posts: 13,465
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Joined: September 21, 2006
Location: Louisiana, United States
Posted: December 02, 2009 at 10:10 PM / IP Logged  

Primary computer is the one with the problem.  Same tab set for home page.   No more surfing there than here.  Firefox is fine.     Don't sweat it, I will use firefox for another day or 2 and all will probably be fine then.

Page of 2

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Saturday, November 27, 2021 • Copyright © 1999-2021 the12volt.com, All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy & Use of Cookies
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

Secured by Sectigo
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Support the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer