Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
joebubba 
Copper - Posts: 107
Copper spacespace
Posted: December 25, 2009 at 4:24 PM / IP Logged  
No, you can't set it to do both. The install manual can be found here:
Viper 5901 install manual
The info you need is on pg 26 and pg 51 (option 3-11).
tegguy 
Copper - Posts: 155
Copper spacespace
Posted: December 25, 2009 at 4:30 PM / IP Logged  

Ok so simply connect this to the negative side of the rear defrost relay and it should work. Do I need a relay to boost the ground signal and/or do I need to diode isolate this wire from the rest of the circuit? I don't think I need a diode but i'm still learning.

On a side note what did you guys/gals use to learn how to do all this and what to use where?

i am an idiot 
Platinum - Posts: 13,670
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Posted: December 25, 2009 at 4:36 PM / IP Logged  

tegguy wrote:
On a side note what did you guys/gals use to learn how to do all this and what to use where?

Some of us used meters and test lights.  Some of us use the internet.   When some of us began doing this, Al Gore had not even thought about the internet.  We had no choice but to use a voltmeter to determine which wire did what function. 

tegguy 
Copper spacespace
Posted: December 25, 2009 at 4:39 PM / IP Logged  
i am an idiot wrote:

tegguy wrote:

Some of us used meters and test lights.  Some of us use the internet.   When some of us began doing this, Al Gore had not even thought about the internet.  We had no choice but to use a voltmeter to determine which wire did what function. 

Good Ol Al Gore...... I have been researching but there is just so much information out there it gets confusing and then trying to figure out what rating of a diode to use and type just seems like I will never get a grasp on it.

joebubba 
Copper spacespace
Posted: December 25, 2009 at 4:39 PM / IP Logged