5901 manual remote start

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
berg9987 
Member - Posts: 43
Member spacespace
Posted: January 05, 2010 at 8:33 AM / IP Logged  

Yeah.  Thanks.  Done that already. 

Here's another interesting fact.  Using a multimeter I checked the pins on the remote start connections on the unit itself.  There is a dead short between the auxiliary output and the wire to the starter relay.  You know, like in the unit itself.  As in it has nothing to do with my wiring.  There are other pins that have shorts between them as well, but I left my notes in the garage.

I may be an amateur when it comes to the remote start install, but I am no amateur when it comes electronics or wiring.  I studied for two years to become a cetified electronics technician and have worked in the field for the past six years.

Thank you so much for offending me!  That really helps with my frustration!  Is this how you treat all who are less experienced than you?  Instead of helping or encouraging you insult them?  That's a pretty poor attitude sir.

Cheers,

Berg

howie ll 
Pot Metal - Posts: 16,466
Pot Metal spacespace
Posted: January 05, 2010 at 8:46 AM / IP Logged  
First, SORRY! I've had a bad time recently with someone with the same vehicle.
Try disconnecting ALL the plugs from your unit and see if you now have no resistance between the ones that were showing a short before.
The comment about starter connections was cut car's BLACK/ white starter lead in the ignition loom and join the green to the key side and purple (violet) to the starter side. That should eliminate any grind.
For what it's worth, the failure rate on the 5901 CPU is about 0.01%!
But let's not talk about the remotes!
berg9987 
Member spacespace
Posted: January 05, 2010 at 10:00 AM / IP Logged  

Hey, no worries.  I know how you feel (I'm having a bad time with this vehicle).  And in your defense I did fail to mention that I rechecked every single connection.  Thanks.