the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

impala factory autostart no longer works


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
northern 
Copper - Posts: 154
Copper spacespace
Joined: November 04, 2005
Location: United States
Posted: February 11, 2010 at 3:25 PM / IP Logged  
Our shop did a astrostart install on a 2007 chevy impala. The install went fine (the car is easy to do). But a few weeks later the customer noticed the factory autostart no longer works. When you try to start the car with the factory autostart, you press the lock button twice then hold the "start button" The parking lights flash but the car does not start like it used to. Any GM guys around? I have called local GM dealer and 3 people told me to try 3 different things (so that tells me they don't know how to fix the programming issue).
chriswallace187 
Gold - Posts: 1,661
Gold spacespace
Joined: March 11, 2002
Location: Pennsylvania, United States
Posted: February 11, 2010 at 9:31 PM / IP Logged  
Is the check engine light on? I don't believe the factory RS will work if that's the case.
C Renner's Auto Electronix
My service is cheap, quick, and good - pick any two
awdeclipse 
Copper - Posts: 285
Copper spacespace
Joined: August 05, 2007
Location: Michigan, United States
Posted: February 12, 2010 at 7:25 AM / IP Logged  
I confirm that. No factory RS with CEL on and you get 2 starts per ignition cycle. If you try to start a 3rd time you will get the same behavior, light flash but no start.
sparkie 
Platinum - Posts: 2,061
Platinum spacespace
Joined: November 06, 2003
Location: Canada
Posted: February 13, 2010 at 10:12 AM / IP Logged  
There are a number of things that can prevent the remote starter from working. If there any trouble codes in the vehicle, if the factory hood switch is defective or if the option has been turned off in the instrument cluster. The only way to know is to use a Tech II scan tool to see what is going wrong. Any GM dealer has this. It is possible, that adding the aftermarket unit, triggered codes that don't keep the check engine light on. Why is the customer even concerned though? He bought an aftermarket system aferall.
sparky
robertsc 
Copper - Posts: 337
Copper spacespace
Joined: December 21, 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posted: February 13, 2010 at 8:33 PM / IP Logged  

#1 cause the remotes are junk I've seen tons of them that no longer work .

The carbon goes bad on the pads and the battery holder lets go.


Sorry, you can NOT post a reply.
This topic is closed.

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Saturday, December 10, 2022 • Copyright © 1999-2022 the12volt.com, All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy & Use of Cookies
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

Secured by Sectigo
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Support the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer