the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

amp wiring


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
dan9173 
Member - Posts: 3
Member spacespace
Joined: February 05, 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: March 01, 2010 at 2:11 PM / IP Logged  
I have three 1000W amps, I have a 4AWG wire from the battery to a distribution block and three 8AWG wires from the distribution block to the three amps (one to each amp). I haven't installed it all yet as I am unsure if my wires are thick enough. Can someone please help me?
anonymous1 
Copper - Posts: 151
Copper spacespace
Joined: October 25, 2009
Location: Washington, United States
Posted: March 01, 2010 at 3:15 PM / IP Logged  

Your application isnt for welding with that type of continuous high current draw.

Even IF your amps were anywhere near their rating, you wouldnt be able to pull that contunuously, not even close and not for a few milliseconds.

I've used that guage wire on home audio with a Class-A amp rated at a true 1000w peak, and it would make the lights in my house dim if I R E A L L Y cranked it.

(was also hot enough to roast a mashmellow)

So in my semi-expert humble opinion I think those guages are just fine as long as you have plenty of clean contact areas.

j.reed 
Copper - Posts: 716
Copper spacespace
Joined: January 05, 2009
Location: Arkansas, United States
Posted: March 01, 2010 at 11:50 PM / IP Logged  
If they are cheap 1000 watt peak amps and overrated on power, 4 gauge may work. If that is RMS rating, 4 gauge is nowhere near close to being big enough wire for 3 of them.
What exactly are the amps and there fuse ratings? If their combined fuse rating for all three amps is 150A or less you will be ok. If they are over then you need new wire. 4 gauge can only carry 150A.
amp wiring -- posted image.
z03mz03m 
Copper - Posts: 244
Copper spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: January 09, 2010
Location: Delaware, United States
Posted: March 02, 2010 at 10:33 PM / IP Logged  
Right^^^
Anyway...
I hope I'm not going to intrude but I think this is a relevant question.
So, j.reed how strictly should you follow the max amps running through 4AWG?
I just realized I have 2 amps (Eclipse XA4200, XA1200)with a combined fuse ratting of 160A and kicker 4AWG from my battery with 150A fuse at the battery going to a distribution block going down to 8AWG to the amps. Will this set up trip the 150A fuse at my battery?
anonymous1 
Copper - Posts: 151
Copper spacespace
Joined: October 25, 2009
Location: Washington, United States
Posted: March 02, 2010 at 11:18 PM / IP Logged  
  • Eclipse XA4200 4-Channel Class D Car Amplifier
  • RMS Power Rating:
    • 4 ohms: 100 watts x 4 chan.
    • 2 ohms: 200 watts x 4 chan.
    • Bridged, 4 ohms: 400 watts x 2 chan.
  • Max power output: 1000 watts
  • MOSFET power supply
  • 4-gauge power and ground wiring is required for installation.
  • Number of Channels 4
    RMS Power (4 ohms) 100 watts x 4 channels
    RMS Power (2 ohms) 200 watts x 4 channels
    RMS Power (1 ohm) N/A
    Bridged RMS Power 400 watts x 2 channels
    Total RMS Power Output 800 watts
    Peak Power Output 250 watts x 4 channels
    Total Peak Power Output 1000 watts

    ================================================================

  • Eclipse XA1200 Class D Monoblock Car Amplifier with ICE Technology
  • RMS Power Rating:
    • 4 ohms: 350 watts x 1 chan.
    • 2 ohms: 500 watts x 1 chan.
  • Max power output: 600 watts
  • MOSFET switching power supply
  • 4-gauge power and ground wiring is required for installation.
  • Amplifier Class D
    Number of Channels 1 - Mono
    RMS Power (4 ohms) 350 watts x 1 channel
    RMS Power (2 ohms) 500 watts x 1 channel
    RMS Power (1 ohm) N/A
    Bridged RMS Power N/A
    Total RMS Power Output 500 watts
    Peak Power Output 600 watts x 1 channel
    Total Peak Power Output 600 watts

    These ratings are the max that the MOSFETS can do, not what you'll be able to do with the amps cranked up in your vehicle.

    https://www.the12volt.com/ohm/page2.asp

    WATTS \ VOLTS = AMPS

    So even if you could obtain that insanely theoretical maximum without getting shot by a neighbor, you wouldnt blow the 150A fuse at the battery, based on only the parts listed.

    .

    z03mz03m 
    Copper - Posts: 244
    Copper spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
    Joined: January 09, 2010
    Location: Delaware, United States
    Posted: March 03, 2010 at 7:33 AM / IP Logged  
    Good to know amp wiring -- posted image.
    I figured it would be ok because of what you said...it would have to all be maxing out to blow... which I don't plan on achieving
    Thanks      amp wiring -- posted image.
    tommy... 
    Gold - Posts: 1,901
    Gold spacespace
    Joined: December 10, 2004
    Location: United States
    Posted: March 03, 2010 at 7:47 AM / IP Logged  
    Big 3...? What's the wire from alt to battery look like(size?)... How about from the negative terminal to chassis...While doing the install...At least upgrade the negative terminal to chassis(i'm sure you can use some extra wire from the 4g)...Maybe even have enough extra wire to upgrade that alt. to battery connection...?!  Also it is recommended to use a fused dist block...
    M.E.C.P & First-Class
    Go slow and drink lots of water...Procrastinators' Unite...Tomorrow!
    j.reed 
    Copper - Posts: 716
    Copper spacespace
    Joined: January 05, 2009
    Location: Arkansas, United States
    Posted: March 03, 2010 at 10:51 AM / IP Logged  
    z03mz03m wrote:
    Good to know amp wiring -- posted image.
    I figured it would be ok because of what you said...it would have to all be maxing out to blow... which I don't plan on achieving
    Thanks      amp wiring -- posted image.
    Yeah you only have 1300rms total. You will be more than fine. You wont see over 150A draw unless something was wrong.
    As for the original poster. Still don't know what the amps really are. If they are true 1000rms amps, 4 gauge and 150A is not going to cut it.
    amp wiring -- posted image.
    anonymous1 
    Copper - Posts: 151
    Copper spacespace
    Joined: October 25, 2009
    Location: Washington, United States
    Posted: March 04, 2010 at 1:33 AM / IP Logged  

    j.reed wrote:
    As for the original poster. Still don't know what the amps really are. If they are true 1000rms amps, 4 gauge and 150A is not going to cut it.

    Agreed that sounds lean depending on his amps and what they could be pushing.

    OP, what are the exact models of those amps, and do you have any pwr cable left from the install?

    z03mz03m 
    Copper - Posts: 244
    Copper spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
    Joined: January 09, 2010
    Location: Delaware, United States
    Posted: March 04, 2010 at 10:23 PM / IP Logged  
    Thanks both of you! amp wiring -- posted image.
    Concerning the original post; as an example I used to be using a Legacy 2000W amp hooked up to my infinity 12 and it got pretty loud for one 12 but the amp's brochure said it was only 150W RMS x2 @ 4ohm. Now that I have my xa4200 rear 2ch powering that same sub(temporary) giving it 200W RMS I don't think the legacy was even pushing a real 300W not to mention the difference in cleanness.
    Can you say UPGRADE? amp wiring -- posted image.

    Sorry, you can NOT post a reply.
    This topic is closed.

      Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
    You cannot post new topics in this forum
    You cannot reply to topics in this forum
    You cannot delete your posts in this forum
    You cannot edit your posts in this forum
    You cannot create polls in this forum
    You cannot vote in polls in this forum

    •  
    Search the12volt.com
    Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
    Thursday, January 20, 2022 • Copyright © 1999-2022 the12volt.com, All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy & Use of Cookies
    Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

    Secured by Sectigo
    the12volt.com spacer
    the12volt.com spacer
    the12volt.com spacer
    Support the12volt.com
    Top
    the12volt.com spacer
    the12volt.com spacer