python alarm issues.

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
mtrhd0024 
Member - Posts: 12
Member spacespace
Posted: March 07, 2010 at 4:58 PM / IP Logged  
Hey there,
I'm installing a Python 460 MAX into a 1990 Ford Bronco II. This is my first time installing an alarm, but I've done my research, and I've got the wiring cheat sheet for it, as well as the instruction manual for the Python.
The wiring cheat sheet for my Bronco II is here: https://www.the12volt.com/installbay/alarmdetail/812.html
So far, I've hooked up the main power (red wire on the python, to constant yellow wire at ignition on the Bronco), the positive door open wire (purple wire on the python to the black and blue wire in the Bronco), the parking light output (white wire on the python to the brown parking light wire at the light switch in my dash, and I had the pos/neg parking light jumper set to positive), then I hooked the siren up (brown python wire up to the red, positive siren wire) and then I grounded the negative wires for both the siren and the alarm.
I went to test the unit for the first time at this point, because I wanted to see if it would arm/disarm successfully. I plugged everything into the black box, and clicked the arm button on my remote. I got a split second flash from the blue LED in the control center (this alarm has the LED, valet switch, and antenna built into one unit) and then nothing. No parking light flash, no chirp from the siren, nothing. I tried using both remotes, but I got no more responses from the unit. I tried hooking up the yellow ignition wire from the python, but still got nothing. I must also note that the door was open at the time when i tried arming the alarm. I tried re-arming it with the door open and closed but it made no difference.