icon

mid bass speakers off rear hu channels?

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
diskdrivex 
Member - Posts: 19
Member spacespace
Posted: April 26, 2010 at 7:18 PM / IP Logged  
so as a professional installer i would probably never recommend this, but just for the hell of it.
i have a wrangler, currently have the four main speakers on an amp, and some tweeters running off the head unit, so i have the rear channel of the head unit available. what are your thoughts on running some mid bass speakers off the rear?
i can get some kicker comp 8"s or the cvt 6.5" that have an rms rating of 100 and 150 respectively.
the other question is regarding my amps. i have a 650 mono and a 400 4ch, running on 4 awg, i was tossing around the idea of upping to 1/0 but i think that might be a lil overkill, so i was thinking (as it would be cheaper) running a second 4awg line and ground. the MECP side of me says no, but then again i dont see what it could hurt as long as i did it right.
so part of me is actually thinking of doing this, but mostly im just curious even if i didnt do it.
so just a curiosity for discussion, any thoughts, opinions, or experiences?
thanks
Brandon
MECP Basic, Best Buy
jmelton86 
Gold - Posts: 1,228
Gold spacespace
Posted: April 26, 2010 at 8:07 PM / IP Logged  
The rational side of me says no. You definitely need a complete makeover.
But, what you want to hear is; Heck yea! You get a discount and everything!
LoL
2013 Kia Rio -90a alternator
DDX470HD GTO14001 GTO1014D (x3)
Big3 in 1/0G
1/0G to GTO14001
stevdart 
Platinum - Posts: 5,816
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Posted: April 26, 2010 at 10:01 PM / IP Logged