the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

no power to head unit after alarm


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
elbartorex 
Member - Posts: 17
Member spacespace
Joined: May 20, 2008
Posted: June 14, 2010 at 3:38 PM / IP Logged  
i am an idiot wrote:
An open is an break in the circuit.  When a fuse blows, that is now an open. 
so if the fuses aren't blown I should be looking for a cut wire?
KPierson 
Platinum - Posts: 3,526
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Joined: April 14, 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posted: June 14, 2010 at 5:00 PM / IP Logged  

I would start at the ignition switch and probe the circuit with a volt meter.  Most cars take constant power to the igniton switch and then power individual circuits from there.  It sounds like your constant and igniton circuts are unaffected so I would concentrate on the accessory circuit which is a yellow wire at the switch.  It's a long shot, but maybe the switch itself went bad at the exact time you were installing the alarm?  Check the voltage at the switch and then at the harness and then at the fuse box.  In most Hondas all of those places are somewhat easy to access.  It may also help if you got a wiring diagram for the car and checked to see if any other circuits are on the same feed and not working.

Kevin Pierson
elbartorex 
Member - Posts: 17
Member spacespace
Joined: May 20, 2008
Posted: June 16, 2010 at 1:55 PM / IP Logged  
KPierson wrote:

I would start at the ignition switch and probe the circuit with a volt meter.   Most cars take constant power to the igniton switch and then power individual circuits from there.   It sounds like your constant and igniton circuts are unaffected so I would concentrate on the accessory circuit which is a yellow wire at the switch.   It's a long shot, but maybe the switch itself went bad at the exact time you were installing  the alarm?   Check the voltage at the switch and then at the harness and then at the fuse box.   In most Hondas all of those places are somewhat easy to access.   It may also help if you got a wiring diagram for the car and checked to see if any other circuits are on the same feed and not working.

if the ignition switch was bad, then the car wouldn't start, right?
i am an idiot 
Platinum - Posts: 13,423
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Joined: September 21, 2006
Location: Louisiana, United States
Posted: June 16, 2010 at 2:28 PM / IP Logged  
There are several switches inside your ignition switch.  You could have a bad switch on the accessory section of the switch.  The car will still start in this case.
blanx218 
Silver - Posts: 654
Silver spacespace
Joined: September 23, 2008
Location: Pennsylvania, United States
Posted: June 17, 2010 at 8:26 PM / IP Logged  
just to clarify the fuse thing. did you check for blown fuses in both fuse boxes? and did you check every fuse rather than just the ones labeled radio and cig lighter?
soundnsecurity 
Gold - Posts: 2,705
Gold spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: November 10, 2008
Location: Louisiana, United States
Posted: June 18, 2010 at 11:13 AM / IP Logged  
how did you connect the alarm wires to the ignition harness? t-tap solder? if you used a t-tap then you may have cut most of the wire inside the jacket causing a bad connection and added resistance to that wire. solder can do the same thing if it is a cold solder.
if you wand to test this just make a jumper out of some 14ga wire and jump t across your connection on the acc wire.
if you dont catch this problem soon it might melt your wire harness
jcs091570 
Copper - Posts: 155
Copper spacespace
Joined: March 23, 2009
Location: Arizona, United States
Posted: June 19, 2010 at 3:03 AM / IP Logged  
Just a thought... just by looking at a fuse you can generally tell if it is blown, but sometimes you can't. Try a new fuse in the necessary places and see what happens. I found out the hard way and wasted hours trying to figure a similar situation out..when it turns out the fuse was blown where I couldn't make it out with my own eyes. Can always use a volt meter and test it for continuity. Sounds like your radio and cig lighter are on the same switched 12v ignition circuit.
i am an idiot 
Platinum - Posts: 13,423
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Joined: September 21, 2006
Location: Louisiana, United States
Posted: June 19, 2010 at 5:48 AM / IP Logged  

Did you ever have any wires shoved into the radio or cig lighter fuse slot?  This tends to spread out the contacts of the fuse holder.  You may want to check for that.

Page of 2

Sorry, you can NOT post a reply.
This topic is closed.

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Monday, September 20, 2021 • Copyright © 1999-2021 the12volt.com, All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy & Use of Cookies
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

Secured by Sectigo
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Support the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer