mtx sub, kenwood excelon hu, kenwood amp

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
swamanator 
Member - Posts: 3
Member spacespace
Posted: June 16, 2010 at 7:27 PM / IP Logged  
Hey Guys,
Im brand new with all this audio stuff in terms of knowledge...but i love music. I recently purchased a MTX Sub, Kenwood eXcelon HU, Kenwood Amp for my 2001 avalon xls and got it installed the other day. i however feel like i am not getting what i paid for in terms of output. it could be that i am not tuning my amp correctly or something else could be wrong. I put together a little info sheet about what i got and what i thought were the main points. If someone could guide me on how to tune my amplifier and what my setting should be (crossover, etc. ) that would be great.
Also the guys who installed everything for me said i could control everything that was on the back of my amp from my HU itself. is this true? in terms of gain, etc. Another thing ...how am i suppose to know how much RMS i am pushing out? I dont want to blow these brand new subs but i want them to bang!
Thanks.
::
Head Unit:
Kenwood Excelon KDC-X794
Power Output:
Peak: 50 watts x 4 channels
RMS: 22 watts x 4 channels
Digital E's+ Crossover settings for front speakers, rear speakers, and subwoofer
3 Sets of 4V preamp outputs (front, rear and subwoofer)
(Built in crossover settings, with decibel curve, etc. )
Subwoofer:
MTX Audio TR5512X2D
Dual 12" Thunder Round Series Vented Loaded Enclosure
Power Handling:
Peak: 1600 watts
RMS: 800 watts
Impedance: 2 Ohms
Frequency response: 31-150 Hz
Sensitivity: 87 dB
Amplifier:
Kenwood KAC-9105D
Performance Series Class D Monoblock Car Amplifier
2 ohms: 900 watts x 1 chan.
Frequency response: 5-200 Hz
Variable low-pass filter (50-200 Hz, 24 dB/octave)
Tuned Bass EQ (0-18 dB bass boost at 40 Hz)
Input Sensitivity : 5(MIN) – 0.2(MAX)
swamanator 
Member spacespace
Posted: June 16, 2010 at 7:28 PM / IP Logged  
Toyota Avalon 2001 XLS with JBL speakers.
topinstaller200