icon

1980 chevy corvette power antenna wiring

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
ben d. 
Member - Posts: 36
Member spacespace
Posted: July 07, 2010 at 8:41 PM / IP Logged  

Ok guys,  So I have a customer coming in to my shop that needs to get a working power antenna in his 1980 chevy corvette.  It had an aftermarket originally and it was hood installed without a doubt.  What happened was the radio died and so did the power antenna.  He bought a new radio and had our shop put the radio in.  I currently work as an MECP certified tech at best buy.  So new radio goes in without too much of an issue.  I ran new speaker wire and power ground and what not, soldered and heat shrinked it all and now it looks great and the radio works great.  Downside was when it was at my shop he had no power antenna at all.  So i informed the custy that we will hook it up but no real gaurantees since there may be further problems.  Well he put in a new power antenna that he got direct from GM and guess what it doesn't work.

So I had it in the shop an hour before close tonight and here's what I determined.  The wiring that I did was fine and I verified much the same as i did on original install that the relay for the power antenna is activated by the radio.  Radio is a kenwood just so everyone knows.  The downside is still no power antenna working.  There is a relay that controls the power antenna functions and it is underneath the jack storage box.

From what I can tell the relay has a total of six wires being connected to it.  This relay does not appear to be like a standard SPDT relay in looks but functionality wise it is the same.  There are three wires on one plug that I will call the input side.

It contains an Orange wire which I tested has no voltage to it at all as of now

A yellow wire which is what is connected to the power antenna trigger of the radio

and a black wire which is ground.