icon

python 991 into 2002 dodge ram 2500 diese

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
hillj21 
Member - Posts: 2
Member spacespace
Posted: October 25, 2010 at 10:36 PM / IP Logged  

I am a novice at this kind of work. I have done lower quality installs and want to do this one with as much information in front of me as possible

1) I am curious about the diode isolation, do I need a specific size diode and can they be found at fry's or radio shack. A Part Number would be appreciated.

2) How do I tell what type of locks I have, like my chevy is a type c.

3) I am seeing alot of mentioning of resistors in some alarm installs, how do you determine this, is it by vehicle, voltage rating. Anyone who has knowledge of this DEI alarm or installing a quality alarm in this model of Dodge would be greatly appreciated.

pitoaudiovisual 
Copper - Posts: 388
Copper spacespace
Posted: November 01, 2010 at 4:27 PM / IP Logged  
yes u will need diodes and resistors for that vehicle mostly dodges and chryslers use them for lock and unlock. For the diodes i usually buy the smallest ones they have does matter and u can find it in Radio Shack thats where i get them. You will need a 330 ohm and 820 ohm resistor. I use the ones that say 5% 1/2 watt. Type C locks means that the lock and unlock wire is the same. You will need two relays one for lock with the 820 ohm resistor and the 330 for the unlock which will both be negative.
Confidence is the key to any project!!
hillj21 
Member - Posts: 2
Member spacespace
Posted: November 01, 2010 at 10:39 PM / IP Logged