icon

amp to power two type rs

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
cadillacskates 
Member - Posts: 7
Member spacespace
Posted: November 01, 2010 at 11:32 PM / IP Logged  
I have just aquired 2 10" Alpin Type R subs (Dual, two ohm voice coils) and am looking to install them in seperate sealed boxs in my '01 Eclipse Spyder. They are rated for 50-500 watt RMS. And am not sure what kind of amp is best for this setup. Any specific suggestions would be appreciated.
zachy_je 
Member - Posts: 15
Member spacespace
Posted: November 02, 2010 at 10:42 PM / IP Logged  
I'm not an expert, but I do have some knowledge of matching up subs and amps. Your system, if wired in series/parallel (option 2), will need a 2 ohm stable amplifier. They also RMS at 500 watts each, which will require at least a 1,000 watt amplifier. According to Crutchfield, the Alpine MRP-M1000 would fit your needs nicely. Another option, if you don't mind mixing brands, is the Kicker ZX1000.1. I hope this helps!
Zach
PS - Experts: please feel free to correct me if I'm wrong (but I'm pretty confident in my answer).
cadillacskates 
Member spacespace
Posted: November 11, 2010 at 10:53 PM / IP Logged  
i checked out these amps and im not really sure if im understanding. On the Alpine, it says 1000 watt RMS @ 2 ohms. So that would mean that I'd have to split the power betweent the two subs. I understand the math but would it be better to use a two channel setup?
i am an idiot 
Platinum - Posts: 13,667
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Posted: November 11, 2010 at 11:03 PM / IP Logged  

1000 / 2 = 500.  Isn't that the max power of the speakers?

zachy_je 
Member - Posts: 15
Member spacespace
Posted: November 11, 2010 at 11:15 PM / IP Logged