icon

box parameters

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
agraves1 
Copper - Posts: 59
Copper spacespace
Posted: December 06, 2010 at 10:56 AM / IP Logged  
I am going with a pretty modest system and I just want it to sound as good as possible. I am new to box building and I am trying my best to find out on my own the best box to build, but I want opinions from more experience individuals.
I am going with the Polk DXI 10" subwoofers and I am going with an amp that will push them about 150 watts rms each. I listen to mainly rock, but listen to about every other type of music as well. I am just really going for sound quality. Here are the numbers I have for a sealed box:
Qtc: .6725
Qts: .55
Qes: .59
Fs: 35 hz
Vas: .99ft^3
Pmax: 150 watts
Xmax: .622 in
Vb: 3455.57in^3
Fb: 42.7955 hz
F3: 45.1106 hz
Would an enclosure with these parameters be okay for what I am wanting? My only concern is I drive a smaller car and two subs would be around 4 cubic feet for the enclosure. Any help would be great! Let me know if I am completely off on something, because this is my first box I am trying to build to using t/s parameters.
agraves1 
Copper spacespace
Posted: December 06, 2010 at 11:06 AM / IP Logged  
Maybe a box the that is roughly 30" wide, 14" tall, and about 16" deep...would have to be a littler larger than that because I didn't account for bracing and thickness of mdf
stevdart 
Platinum - Posts: 5,816
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Posted: December 06, 2010 at 10:39 PM / IP Logged  

I looked that sub up in the manufacturer's site and put the available parameters through WinISD. By what you wrote, you apparently have two SVC 4 Ohm woofers.  A few thoughts: