the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

idatalink 2010 corolla


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
TJ92Civic 
Copper - Posts: 161
Copper spacespace
Joined: November 13, 2004
Location: United States
Posted: December 17, 2010 at 3:19 PM / IP Logged  
With the ADS TB, the multi series Idatalink bypass, does this need to be 'flashed' before installed? Or do they come programmed for the car?
I'm new to anything not requiring a key going into a box...
Thanks
Tim
kreg357 
Platinum - Posts: 7,574
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Security and Convenience. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: January 30, 2009
Location: Pennsylvania, United States
Posted: December 17, 2010 at 6:05 PM / IP Logged  

Yes, all the iDatalink Multi and Blade series need to be flashed with the correct firmware prior to install.  The Solo series comes preloaded but can be updated with the ADS USB cable as revised firmare become available ( usually to support new vehicles ).

There are some resellers that will flash prior to shipment (  for a fee ).

The firmware is updated often and the only way to tell exactly which version is loaded is with the ADS USB cable.  ( Often times there are major wiring changes along with the firmware change. As an example, when the ADS AL(DL) NI V5.5 firmware went to V6.21, some wiring was added and some was changed depending on the Nissan vehicle.  If you tried to install a V5.5 flashed module using the current V6.21 guide, big problems.  ) 

Soldering is fun!
TJ92Civic 
Copper - Posts: 161
Copper spacespace
Joined: November 13, 2004
Location: United States
Posted: December 17, 2010 at 8:38 PM / IP Logged  
Ok thank you! So I'm guessing that buying it directly from idatalink, that it won't be flashed...
kreg357 
Platinum - Posts: 7,574
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Security and Convenience. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: January 30, 2009
Location: Pennsylvania, United States
Posted: December 17, 2010 at 9:27 PM / IP Logged  

Not the Multi series.  They come with no firmware.  They sell the Multi series for installers that want 3 modules that can be used on almost any vehicle, when loaded with the correct firmware.  If you are mobile, all you need are the 3 basic Multi modules, an ADS USB Cable and a Laptop with WiFi.  Ready for most anything. 

There are several places "online" that sell iDatalink modules.  Search on "iDatalink ADS TB".  Some will flash them prior to shipment ( or try to sell you the ADS USB cable).

Another good bypass module is from Fortin.  They all come pre-loaded with the firmware ( althought if you get one from a "online" auction type place, the firmware could be way behind the current version ).  Check out their WEB site :  https://ifar.ca/en/ 

Soldering is fun!
TJ92Civic 
Copper - Posts: 161
Copper spacespace
Joined: November 13, 2004
Location: United States
Posted: December 17, 2010 at 10:17 PM / IP Logged  
Thanks for the info!
I was thinking about using one of these on my car. I have an 06 Civic. So I wouldn't have to lose a key.
What about the data link connections? What starters are compatible with this? I have a manual transmission, so I'm thinking of getting the Compustar 2way. The data link connection looks much easier / neater of an install.
kreg357 
Platinum - Posts: 7,574
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Security and Convenience. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: January 30, 2009
Location: Pennsylvania, United States
Posted: December 18, 2010 at 7:42 AM / IP Logged  

I used a Compustar CM5200 with the Blade TB in a manual trans 2006 Civic.  Worked great but manual transmission Reservation mode is a pain.  ( After it is set, you can't open any doors / trunk or it gets cancelled....)  If you want neat, this is the way to go.  Only one wire from the bypass to the car, all other bypass to remote start connections are internal.  Unfortunately, you would need the ADS USB cable ( $50 ) to program the Blade with the correct firmware but with the cable you can also set the Compustar programming options at the same time.

There are a lot of bypass modules for that car.  It is a very easy bypass install.  Just be carefull with the Light Green Data wire at the transponder connector, it is very thin / delicate. 

The DEI PKH34 is very available and fairly inexpensive.  There are only 4 wires to connect, three to the remote starter and one to the car.  Going D2D will only eliminate the three wires going to the remote starter but D2D is not available with Compustar units.

From iDatalink is the ADS-TBSL-HA module.  Only 5 wires to connect, three to the remote start and two to the car.  Harder to find and slightly more expensive.  The Compustar CM5x00 and CM6x00 units are D2D compatable which would eliminate 3 wire connections with the D2D harness.

From Fortin is the Honda-SL3.  It is more expensive but this module is listed as D2D compatible with the Compustar units, either one way or two way depending the the Compustar model.  Still have three wires to connect, one to the remote start and two to the car plus the D2D harness.

For the money, I would go with the PKH34 or ADS-TBSL-HA and make a few extra soldered joints. 

Soldering is fun!
TJ92Civic 
Copper - Posts: 161
Copper spacespace
Joined: November 13, 2004
Location: United States
Posted: December 18, 2010 at 10:21 AM / IP Logged  
Thank you! Very good info!
tedmond 
Gold - Posts: 4,610
Gold spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Security and Convenience. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: January 06, 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posted: December 18, 2010 at 9:24 PM / IP Logged  
kreg you can use the d2d wire for power,ground and gwr, but you have to swap wires around when using xpresskits. the actual data communication doesnt work from compustar to dei bypasses
Ted
2nd Year Tier 1 Medical School
Still installing as a hobby...pays for groceries
Compustar Expert
phil6710 
Copper - Posts: 89
Copper spacespace
Joined: September 04, 2009
Location: New York, United States
Posted: December 18, 2010 at 10:01 PM / IP Logged  
Use the ADS-TBSL KO  solo series of bypass module. It comes pre loaded for most of the transponder vehicals. If the corola has the 80 bit key you will need the ADS AL CA which would need programing or flashing from the usb cabel. If it is a 40 bit key which it probably is since its a corolla. Use the TBSL KO its pre loaded and the least expesive unit since you dont need to get a usb cabe updater. If you are a installer at a shop and you start to use idatalink modules usualy your distibuter will give it to you at no charge. Although some times it is more cost efective if you use the pre loaded series. The conveinence of using one module that can do any vehical covered by their software is priceless.
Solartech Window Tinting and Electronics,contract installer

Sorry, you can NOT post a reply.
This topic is closed.

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Monday, January 17, 2022 • Copyright © 1999-2022 the12volt.com, All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy & Use of Cookies
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

Secured by Sectigo
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Support the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer