icon

favorite remote starter?

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
alarep5 
Member - Posts: 28
Member spacespace
Posted: February 23, 2011 at 12:27 PM / IP Logged  

I know this question has been asked on every one of these forms by companies or individuals that want to get into the biz, but I need whatever  advise I can get.

I have been installing Astro for the last 10 years and i have been bugged by buddy to come to his truck accy shop to install.

But around my area my local Astro dealer syas no, " area is to saturated"

So I am wondering what brand to take on.

I have a good "autostart" supplier ready to set me up, but I want to check out everyone.

viper, compustar etc.

I have gotten used to Astros "dip switch" programming and hesitate when I i think about learning the other brands switch and transmitter programming.

Since it is all Directed Elec now, are the other brands using dip switches also? 

OLDSCHOOL - If the wire is there,...use it.
kreg357 
Platinum - Posts: 7,783
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Security and Convenience. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: February 23, 2011 at 1:04 PM / IP Logged  

Here's my two cents...

Compustar is a solid unit.  No DIP switches but very easy to program with the OP500 Option Programmer ( about $80 ).  The OP500 can connect at the antenna harness so access is easy.  Compustar units ( CM5x00 and CM6x00 ) use iDatalink Blade cartridges or iDatalink and Fortin (external) modules, which are excellent.

Soldering is fun!
Twelvoltz 
Platinum - Posts: 2,384
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Posted: February 23, 2011 at 5:29 PM / IP Logged